BM Intensity + LCD Tv for monitoring?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Macinposh, Oct 15, 2009.

1. Macinposh macrumors 6502a

So,putting up a ghetto monitoring/colorcorrecting setup for MP.

I am aware that this is not The Pro setup, but as I am still studying FCP and not yet doing any broadcasting level stuff.

So,thinking going the BM Intensity + maybe Philips 22" FullHD (22PFL5604H W-UXGA) tv route.
    Any other pointers/suggestions out there?
    As the monitor cant be much bigger than the 22" (26" is too big) and most of the 19-23" are actually just computer monitors with tuners, there just dont seem to be that much options?

And as I am using a MP 1.1+Apple ati 4870, the matrox mxo+23" ACD apparently does not work aither due to the incompability issues with the Apple MDP->DVI adapter->MXO->Display. And that setup would be double the price too..

2. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

bigbossbmb

if that's the best you can afford, then that's the best you can do...

it'll be better than trying to judge the picture in the FCP Canvas window, but still won't be totally accurate. Your main drawback will be the inability to calibrate the TV well.

3. Macinposh thread starter macrumors 6502a

Yep.The calibration will be a challenge,will try to my best with the colorbars etc.Damn budgets. But I will get by with it untill I can justify getting getting a decent setup..

Btw,is there any use of using "monitor calibrators" like spyder etc? Been using them for calibrating monitors for photoshop but no experience with the moving pictures..

4. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

bigbossbmb

those will not help with a video monitor, they only for computer monitors. even for computer monitors, they won't calibrate to a video color space.

5. offshoresa65s macrumors member

Hi

I run a BM Intensity Pro and color correct on a Panasonic 32" LCD Full HD TV for around six months now.

I really appreciate the difference that the BM card makes to looking at vision.