Books

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by glocke12, May 22, 2008.

1. glocke12 macrumors 6502a

glocke12

How many people on here buy books ? How many per year ? How many books do you have ? What do you do with them once read ?

Im 40, and have always been a big book person. At the moment Ive got boxes and boxes that contain hundreds of books ive bought since I was very young. I know that I wont ever read most of them again....Being at a point in my life where I know that I need to rid myself of some my possesions (cant keep it all forever, or carry it around forever), Im finding it pretty hard to get rid of many of these.

2. Moof1904 macrumors 65816

Buy them still. New and used. We have a place called Half Price Books (are they all over?) that's great. Some we treasure and keep forever, some we sell back to Half Price Books or donate to charity when we're finished.

3. iSaint macrumors 603

iSaint

Where do you live? I'll take some! I'm a high school English teacher, and I like to build my library. Know they will be used.

4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

mkrishnan

Yeah, I buy probably 1-2 hardcovers a month on average. I'm actually packing to move, and I have about 16-17 ream-of-paper-size boxes of predominantly hardcovers. Mix of fiction, non-fiction, work-related, etc. Books are one of the greatest investments in oneself available. :)

5. Everythingisnt macrumors 6502a

Everythingisnt

around 12 books a month, give or take. They range in size from novella to big novels..

I'm a fast reader which is why I'm able to get so much reading done. Honestly, I would read more if I didn't have school and such :p.

(PS - almost all of what I read is Science Fiction and Horror)

6. Leareth macrumors 68000

Leareth

about 15-20 books per month.

50/50 between academic and pure fiction.

have over 3,600 on my shelves.

7. iRachel macrumors 6502a