Boost ethernet speed MacBook Pro 8,1

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Mac03ForLife, Oct 15, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Mac03ForLife macrumors regular

    Mac03ForLife

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2017
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #1
    This may seem like a stupid question, but is there any way to boost the speed of my ethernet port (my router is 1gb/s), but using GeForce NOW and streaming to twitch at the same time causes for significant packet loss in the game. Is there any way I can fix it? (Hardware, software, etc)?
     
  2. davegoody macrumors 6502

    davegoody

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Location:
    Reading, Berkshire, England
    #2
    You could use a USB3 or Thunderbolt Ethernet Adapter. I have a Retina MBP mid 2015, just before it moved to the new ones with the Touchbar, and of course it has no built-in Ethernet. At home it's in a Henge Dock, and had the Apple USB Ethernet adapter plugged-in. However that's only USB2 and 10/100 Ethernet. Swapped it for an Anker 10/100/1000 USB3 Ethernet adapter and it's faultless, far faster of course, no dropped-packets etc.
     
  3. Howard2k macrumors 68020

    Howard2k

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    #3
    Are there any details you can provide? Any at all? :D

    Which devices are you referring to? What size are the data streams? What are the current connection settings you're seeing? Where are you seeing the errors?
    --- Post Merged, Oct 15, 2018 ---
    The 2011 MBPro has Gigabit Ethernet already.
    It might be a misconfiguration issue or even just a cable issue.
     
  4. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #4
    Your streaming out to Twitch is likely maxing your internet connection rather than the ethernet port on your Mac, maxing your upstream will cause packet loss/delay on the downstream connection (the game), thats a function of how TCPIP works. What type is your internet connection?
     
  5. Mac03ForLife thread starter macrumors regular

    Mac03ForLife

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2017
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #5
    How would I check this?
     
  6. leman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #6
    What is your internet plan? If you are streaming, you want to have sufficiently high upload bandwidth. I agree with the above posters that your local setup is less likely to be at fault here.
     
  7. Mac03ForLife thread starter macrumors regular

    Mac03ForLife

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2017
    Location:
    Washington, DC
  8. Howard2k macrumors 68020

    Howard2k

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    #8

    So that's the very first thing you need to figure out. Exactly what performance you're supposed to be getting from your provider. Best thing is to call them and ask.

    Then with nothing else running, do a speed test (google: speedtest) and see how those compare.
     
  9. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #9
    No idea what that is, I'm in NZ not the US.

    Depending on your router it may have a display showing the internet traffic up/down.
     

Share This Page

8 October 15, 2018