Boot Camp 4.0.1 Windows 7 USB Error

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Jkphjk, Oct 25, 2011.

1. Jkphjk macrumors newbie

Hi,

I have a 13" MBA Mid 2011 with OS X 10.7.2 and I am trying to install Windows 7 with Boot Camp 4.0.1

I used the Boot Camp Assistant and selected all three options:
    • Create a Windows & install disk
    • Download latest Windows support...
    • Install Windows 7

It goes through a finishes okay but when it reboots the following error occurs:
    "Booting from Boot Camp Assistant created USB Drive...Failed to load BOOTMGR"

I have tried using different USB Drives (LEXMARK 8GB & IMATION 4GB) and the same error occurs.

I have also tried using the 'Windows 7 USB DVD Download Tool' to create a bootable Windows 7 USB but the same BOOTMGR error occurs.

Do anyone else have any suggestions? Any help would be greatly appreciated :)

2. balamw Moderator

balamw

Staff Member

What's the source of the ISO you are trying to use?

B

3. Jkphjk thread starter macrumors newbie

Using an ISO downloaded from the Microsoft Volume Licensing Service Center. Windows 7 Professional SP1 and contains both both 32 and 64 bit versions. Going to try and download a different version and see if that makes any difference. I will try a 32 bit version of Windows 7 Professional without the Service Pack and report back to see if it works.

4. Bob Coxner macrumors 6502a

I don't know if it's the only way to do a USB install but I used two flash drives to boot camp my 2011 MBA. I had the Win 7 Pro ISO on a flash in one USB port and a blank (8gb) flash drive in the second USB port. I then ran boot camp assistant. It did everything from that point until it was time to load drivers. Super easy. I assume it created a bootable file on the second drive but I was too lazy to check it. "It just worked" :)

Mine is Win 7 Pro 32bit. I got the ISO from digital river. License key from MSDNA.

5. Jkphjk thread starter macrumors newbie

SUCCESS!!!! :D