Boot Camp and Fusion on a Mac

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by McShizzel, Apr 22, 2009.

  1. McShizzel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    I've searched everywhere and couldn't find the answer.

    I have Vista 64-Bit installed via Boot Camp and was wondering if it was possible to then install Fusion with Windows XP because I have some older software which is made for XP.

    So basically can I have Vista Boot Camped and Windows XP Fusion running on my Mac?
     
  2. RedRaven571 macrumors 65816

    RedRaven571

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #2
    I'll defer to someone else for a definitive answer but I believe the answer is yes; Fusion allows the user to create multiple virtual machines, only 1 of them is the boot camp vista partition.
     
  3. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #3
    I believe that to be correct too... although I have never tried it

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  4. McShizzel thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    It does work

    Thanks for the answers.

    Yes it does work, I imported my Virtual PC XP partition into Fusion and was able to get both XP and Vista to work via Fusion and I can still access Vista from Boot Camp.

    Although there were some slight problems: Vista seemed a little slow in Fusion especially when it was installing VMtools (but is running normally now) and the Vista DreamScenes just stopped working (in Fusion at least, once it's reactivated in Boot Camp it begins working again). I'll let you know if any other problems arise. :)
     
  5. RedRaven571 macrumors 65816

    RedRaven571

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #6
    You can try a search on the forums but I thought I read somewhere here that when running Windows through a virtual machine, it doesn't have 'control' of the video card, OS X does (?), so that may be why DreamScenes doesn't function properly in Fusion?
     
  6. McShizzel thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    Nonetheless it's not much of a concern for me if it works under Fusion.
     
  7. McShizzel thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #8
    So I just ran in to this problem, when I load up Vista in Fusion it thinks my Vista is counterfeit and tries to reactivate with no success while my Vista partition in Boot Camp will run perfectly fine in Boot Camp no question about reactivating.

    My advice, if you plan on using a partition for use in Boot Camp and then from time to time use the same partition in Fusion try to avoid to because it can lead to a few problems. Either way I'm fine with that I have my Vista running in boot camp (so I can use all my computing power on 3D rendering) and XP in Fusion for the time to time access to Windows.
     

Share This Page