Boot Camp Boot Headache

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by matt9b, Sep 23, 2008.

  1. matt9b macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #1
    I bought a brand spanking new mac pro 2.8 8xcore Mac Pro, I saved for years for it. Finally I have it. Did I say it's a Mac Pro? :)

    My goal is to have a system that can boot up into Windows XP if I want it to. I would also like to be able to run windows from Mac OSX. "That's not that hard!" I hear you think.

    My secret plan is to install windows using bootcamp. Then I will install vmware fusion.

    I installed Windows XP using bootcamp. All was going fine. Not knowing what the difference between "format", "quick format", and "convert" is, I selected "convert FAT to NTFS". Then it installs windows. Then it restarts.

    Then the disasters start...

    "Error Cannot Read From Disk. Press Any Key to Restart..."

    I press any key. Any key doesn't work. Nothing happens. I panic and hit the whole keyboard, I try pressing every single key on the keyboard, but nothing works. I think to myself "If Apple can't get it right, how the heck are Microsoft meant to get it right?"

    I patiently pull the plug on my poor brand new mac pro. I turn it on again. Then disaster, again: "Error: Cannot read from disk. Press any key to restart."

    And again I have to pull the plug on my poor poor brand spanking new apple mac pro with superdrive and aiport extreme wireless internet capability.

    So, I calm myself down, and think patiently "I'll just quietly turn it on again, and pretend nothing is wrong."

    So I turn it on again. It prompts "press any key to boot from CD". So this time, instead of letting it continue to oblivion, I press any key to boot from the Windows CD. It successfully boots from the Windows CD, and gives me all the usual the options to install windows "repair Windows XP using the recover console", or "Format partition.." etc

    So, I think to myself "hmm... Lets try formatting the partition and re-installing windows from scratch again. Maybe it'll work this time" So instead of selecting "convert to NTFS", I tell it "quick format NTFS" and it happily formats the bootcamp partition to NTFS, then copies all the windows files. Great!

    Then it restarts.

    Um... great!. I hold my breath. Windows logo appears, and it starts up! The windows install process begins! Fantastic!

    It seems I was in the calm before the storm because once again... I was unaware of the impending doom luring ahead of me...

    Disaster Struck.

    Whilst installing, Windows went to the BLUE SCREEN OF DEADLY DEATH:

    "A problem has been detected and Windos has been shut down to prevent damange to your computer.

    IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL

    Technical information:

    *** STOP: 0X00000000A (0x000000002, 0x00000000, 0x8051AA58)

    Beginning dump of physical memory
    Physical memory dunp complete.
    Contact your system administrator or technical support group for futher assistance."

    The error states the solution is to: "Contact your system administrator or technical support group for futher assistance."" As I am the administrator of my computer, and I am my own technical support group, I was unable to render further assistance to myself.

    Any help greatly appreciated as I don't particularly like seeing a blue screen of death on my brand spanking new mac pro with superdrive and airport extreme wirless internet capability.

    Thanks :)
     
  2. matt9b thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #2
    Update:

    I managed to get my poor baby mac pro to boot up into OS X.

    Worried for my mac pro's life, I quickly ran bootcamp and restored the machine back to its original state. phew!

    Now I'm bucking up the courage to try again.... I'll try the "slow format NTFS" option this time.

    :mad::eek:

    fingers crossed..
     
  3. matt9b thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #3
    Hmm... tough crowd! Am I talking to myself on here?

    Well, here's another update for you:

    I run bootcamp. It re-started, and booted into the windows CD. I selected "slow format NTFS". It's now at 76% complete and counting! :)

    Update:

    It finished formatting, and rebooted into the Windows xp installer CD.

    So far so good.

    It starts installing windows.

    Great.

    It gets to "installing devices"

    ...

    and again, disaster strikes.

    The screen turns to the BLUE SCREEN OF DEATH!

    I tried hard-resetting the machine again. This is a poor poor brand new machine.

    But again, as soon as it reaches the same point, it goes to the blue screen of death. It basically can't install windows xp because as soon as it reaches the "install devices" part of the installation process, it crashes.

    Can anyone help me? :confused:
     
  4. matt9b thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #4
    I'm running very low on time now, I have a lot of other things to do. I can't keep spending every whole day trying to sort this out, and I'm starting to get sick and tired of it.

    I bought this mac as apple advertise "run windows XP using bootcamp" - but I don't understand how they can justify a statement like that as no matter what I try here, it doesn't work, and I'm using clean installs and a brand new clean mac pro from apple.

    I have managed to successfully install xp using vmware fusion but this doesn't solve my problem that I need to also boot up into native windows XP sometimes.

    Please if anyone is out there, if anyone can help please please help!
     
  5. matt9b thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #5
    Okay now I'm getting annoyed. I gave up on bootcamp. I simply don't have the time to spend this much time on setting up a computer.

    Now I've used bootcamp to restore it to how it was before this saga began.

    All is working fine.

    I was working on OS X for a couple of hours, also using VMWARE Fusion for a few hours, to work on some stuff.

    Then I turn the computer off. Happy that everything's working, I go about my business. Then I turn it on half an hour later to get on with some important urgent work. Suddely disaster...

    "No Boot Disc. Please insert boot disk and press any key to continue."

    I'm like HUH?! What's happened now?

    I can't operate the keyboard, it doesn't work. I can't eject the CD drive to insert any kind of disc (thanks apple - no eject button on the mac - it may look sleek but it's not helpful)

    What should I do now? My brand new mac won't even start up, and won't let me do anything with it.

    I tried pressing the alt key (option key) on startup as well, no effect.

    I thought Apple was meant to be the hassle-free option. I spent a fortune on this system for hassle-free operation. It was less hassle when I had built my own PC running windows (and trust me that was hassly).

    Help!!! :eek:
     
  6. nigetheman22 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    #6
    yea man I'm having the exact same problem and I'm seeking help on another thread. I'll let you know if I get a response
     
  7. matt9b thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #7
    Update to the "insert boot disc"" problem:

    I found the solution to this problem (prepare yourself, don't laugh): Replace the apple keyboard with a PC (yes, PC!) keyboard, and hold down the option (alt) key whilst turning the mac on. Now the boot up menu works and you can boot into OS X!

    I do appreciate the irony of needing PC gear to fix a mac.

    ----

    With regards to the main problem I'm having with Bootcamp, if anyone is out there who can help, I'd be deeply appreciative.. anyone?
     
  8. matt9b thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #8
    well what a wealth of information this forum has provided for this thread! (I'm being sarcastic)

    I discovered that the win cd I'm using to install is SP1, not SP2. So perhaps this is causing the problem. I always downloaded the updates and never had a problem when installing it on PCs, and yes it's genuine, so not sure why it would flop on the mac.

    I'm not about to go out and try to find a SP2 installation CD just to try it on bootcamp though. Don't want to risk it anymore. This mac has been so fragile so far that I don't want to risk trying to sort out a bootcamp / fusion mix any more. So much for the indestructable apple mac pro!

    If it can just about do what u need it for, even if it isn't perfect, takes longer or is a bit inconvenient, leave it be! thats going to have to be my motto from now on, now that I've switched to apple mac. Ugh what have I let myself in for! lol [takes deep breath] keeping chin up.
     
  9. The Flashing Fi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    #9
    If people don't know, then we don't know... :rolleyes:

    Posts telling you that they don't know doesn't help you, does it?
     
  10. matt9b thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #10
    lol! good point! :D
     
  11. monokakata macrumors 68000

    monokakata

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawai'i
    #11
    Of course SP1 is causing the problem. The documentation tells you that.

    Did you read or print out the instructions for using Boot Camp? I almost didn't -- hey, how hard can it be? -- but then I did and I was glad.

    Get SP2 or give it up.
     
  12. matt9b thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #12
    very. just moved house and printer is still packed. printer is an A3 laser, weighs about 200Kg, needs repair, requires you to print and ease the paper in, takes about 20 times of trying to get it to print one page as the paper often gets stuck inside. Printing isn't an option at the moment unless I find the time to go somewhere and get it printed, or find the time to fix and set up my printer. But as this isn't the only problem on my plate at the moment, I don't have that amount of time to give to it!

    cheers for letting me know about sp1, nice to have it confirmed!

    I think I'll still leave it alone for now, just as vm on its own. I'm concerned that installing via bootcamp and then using the bootcamp partiiton as a virtual machine will possibly lead to problems with windows trying to use hardware at the same time as os x, or weird problems happening.
     
  13. monokakata macrumors 68000

    monokakata

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawai'i
    #13
    For what it's worth, "how hard can it be?" was what I was saying to myself -- how hard can it be to install Windows?...done it dozens of times."

    But since I hadn't been a mac guy all that long, I decided, against my nature, to RFTM.
     
  14. Nordichund macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #14
    Well I've installed Boot Camp and Windows XP 5 times now on 4 different Macs, and each time it has been a complete pain in the a55.
    The keyboard thing is the worst. However fortunately I persevered each time after a lot of swearing.

    If you read the instructions, it does clearly say ONLY XP WITH SP2. I know some bright people have managed to install XP without even SP1, but for us mere mortals one doesn't put diesel fuel in a car that runs on petrol and expect it to go.

    Actually since Apple now say they help people with Boot Camp I would have called them after the first couple of unanswered posts, since it doesn't really cost anything except the price of a phone call.

    Anyway congratulations on your new machine, it's a beast, the only problem I find is just running Windows. OS X and Windows is like watching a DVD v a VHS player.

    Can I also just state how much I detest Windows. Thank you :p
     
  15. matt9b thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #15
    lol yes u can.

    It turned out I couldn't work with just vmware fusion running windows as it takes FOREVER to access each folder on the mac - something to do with "NAT-bridged" connected HDs or something. It took about 10 seconds to load up each folder once you double-click it. As my work is heavily-files-based, I need to be able to access quickly. Also my programs in windows need to access quickly, and seemed to be having errors as a result of the delay.

    So, i HAD to go back to plan A and try to get bootcamp working.

    So, I managed to get bootcamp working, with win XP SP2 and vmware fusion is also now working on it also. Phew!

    Now I'm installing all the stuff I need on windows. Only problem is now I'm getting a "windows error: duplicate connection" every time I log into windows. #%$*.

    Also, I can't seem to get my printer and internet connection working simultaneously. I have to disable either the printer's LAN or the internet LAN to get the other working.

    I agree about windows, but I dislike both windows and OS X for many reasons.

    There are pro's and cons for win and os x:

    OS X is more stable than windows.

    OS X's user-interface is slower for many tasks. (e.g. loading a program not in the dock - u have to click Macintosh HD, applications, and do a search, then double click it. - in windows all programs are in the start menu.)

    Windows mouse acceleration allows users to work more productively, without wrist pain.

    OS X runs programs that I need to use, Windows doesn't.

    Windows allows users to do more advanced stuff, where its hidden in OS X. (this could be a pro or a con!)

    OS X is faster than windows.

    The list goes on... So what I'm trying to say is I'm not a mac fanboy neither a microsoft fanboy- having used both all my life, I actually dislike both! If given the choice though and I didn't need OS X, I'd probably reluctantly use windows simply for the user interface (including mouse acceleration) as I get more work done more quickly (despite fact that OS X is more stable).
     
  16. xdbuix macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Location:
    Virginia
    #16
    heLP?

    I installed windows vista home premium way back using bootcamp. I had the trial version of fusion and it worked flawlessly. I recently bought the real version of fusion and it came with a free upgrade to the new version of fusion, fusion 2.0. Now windows won't start with fusion. When I start up windows using fusion, i can see the first part where windows starts up. However, when I come to the password screen, I hear the little bleep windows makes, and it comes to a black screen with two scroll bars, one on the bottom, and one directly in the middle of the screen.

    Any tricks to help? I've been going crazy with this.
     
  17. matt9b thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #17
    LOL start your own thread mate, I've got enough problems. This is for bootcamp headaches. Don't hi-jack mine

    And incidentally, now that windows XP is installed on bootcamp, it is constantly running into "serious system error"s, on startup, on shutdown, during operation... it doesn't like my ati catalyst drivers.. it doesnt like my maudio drivers... should have just got a darned pc.
     
  18. xdbuix macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Location:
    Virginia
    #18
    haha i did start my own thread, cept noone answered -_-. It's weird my bootcamp used to work all right with fusion, but eh... hope ur prob gets solved
     
  19. dotdotdot macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #19
    First of all, you should only be using Windows XP Service Pack 2 or Windows Vista in Boot Camp, and I highly reccomend Vista, and on your Mac Pro it will be incredible.

    That said, once you are using SP2 (which you can "slipstream" into your Service Pack 1 disk, Google that info) you shouldn't need to format anything from the Windows installer. Boot Camp partitions your HD into a Mac partition, a Windows partition, and some other partitions for Darwin, Boot Loaders, and more. The Windows partition should be NTFS as that's what Windows likes to use, and is highly superior to FAT32 (and some may argue HFS+, OS X's file system, which is much older).

    The installation of Windows is somewhat easy, and boot camp makes it even easier. Don't mess with the hard drives, partitions, and formatting. Just put in your disc after Boot Camp does its thing, and install the OS.
     
  20. auntiejo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Location:
    Colorado
    #20
    Boot Camp Boot Headache

    Oh my gosh, I'm laughing so hard after reading this whole ordeal in one sitting that my neighbors have surely been awakened. Matt9b, let me encourage you in your sense humor and creative writing skills!

    I came upon this thread as I was searching for help in the NTFS vs FAT32 debate as I was in the middle of the bootcamp/xp/fusion install. Someone from apple told me on the phone a week ago before I started in on this to "not" choose the "quick" formatting (yet, the screenshot in the Bootcamp guide shows it highlighting "quick." Plus, they said to choose NTFS, but it sounded like FAT32 gives the versatility. So I had last minute doubts, and, fortunately, could pop on the Internet with my iBook while my iMac was tied up. I had just pressed the "NTFS" (NOT-quick) option and it was rolling while I read your sad saga. I was dying off; you poor guy talking to an empty thread - "help - is anybody out there?" But while I was laughing, I knew full well that any moment I could look up and see the Blue Screen of Death on my computer. Whew- it finished - Windows came up and led me through answering time and date questions and stuff like that (which luckily I was able to do with my Apple keyboard, since I would have to wait until morning to borrow a PC keyboard from a neighbor). My mouse even worked.

    Over the last week, I probably read 30 articles/forums on this partitioning issue to make sure I purchased what I needed, and loaded then in the most sensible order, etc. So, I think it paid off for me. Plus, with the wonderful Mac feature of printing to a pdf file, I emailed the pdf Bootcamp instructions to myself and picked it up on my iBook so I could have it open in front of me without wasting the paper of printing it out.

    Matt9b, one thing to let you know is how you said you have to dig to get stuff out, whereas windows has everything on the start menu: you can drag (or use the menu) to "add to the sidebar" anything you want. Or add it to the dock, of course. I like to keep my dock less cluttered so I just open the finder and click on the program under my sidebar.

    Definitely having the instructions (or actually reading then beforehand) would have helped you get through this. I hope these other quirky things work themselves out. It's a drag what happened to your pristine computer, much like getting a parking lot ding in your door of your new car right off the bat. Thanks for entertaining me while I waited for my own program to load, but sorry that it was not that funny on your end. God bless.
     

Share This Page