Boot Camp Booting into Windows when set to Mac OS

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by aviationwiz, Apr 8, 2007.

  1. aviationwiz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    #1
    So I just reinstalled Windows in Boot Camp, using the proper method and all, and even though in Windows I select the startup drive to be the HDD Mac OS is on, it still automatically boots into Windows for some reason.

    Does anyone know how I can force it to default back to Mac OS? There's no way I want this thing to default boot into Windows all the time.
     
  2. v-ault macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    #2
    When you turn on your computer, press and hold the option key. It will then take you to which hard drive partition you want to boot and just pick the mac os x hdd.
     
  3. aviationwiz thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    #3
    Hmm, well, when I hold down the option key to select a HDD, it still just boots right into Windows, doesn't give me the option to select which drive to boot from.
     
  4. v-ault macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    #4
    That is very weird; it always works for me. Maybe you pressing option too soon or something? I really don't know what to tell you.
     
  5. aviationwiz thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    #5
    Wow, that was weird. I have no idea what happened, but I fixed it by booting into the Mac OS X Installer from the CD that came with my Mac Pro, selected the Startup Disk utility, and told it to boot into Mac OS X. I then proceeded to boot into Windows XP by holding down the option key and selecting it like normal, and then I was able to restart it again into Mac OS X without holding down anything.

    What a weird problem! Hopefully this will save someone some time in the future should they be reading this.
     
  6. waremaster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    #6

    Is this by chance bootcamp 1.2? I noticed the startup disk app doesn't work for me in XP on my Mac Pro after upgrading to BC1.2 however it does in Vista imagine that. On my imac and macbook I had no such problems. I wonder if it's XP installed on different drives that cause it.
     
  7. aviationwiz thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    #7
    Yeah, that is with 1.2, interesting observation.
     
  8. cokersa macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Location:
    Kansas City
    #8
    I'm having the same issue, exacerbated by the fact I'm using the bluetooth keyboard, since I can never seem to get the "option" key recognized by the system at boot up to manually select the boot drive. The only way I finally got to boot into MacOS was to insert the MacOS install disk into the superdrive and power cycle the keyboard just as you get the "beep" during system boot up. That finally got me to the "select a boot disk" screen. What a pain. For the most part, things were working great under Bootcamp 1.1. I greatly regret "upgrading" to 1.2.

    Anyone else have a suggested solution to this? With the delay of Leopard, think we might get a 1.3 that "fixes" this?
     
  9. foxxlet macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    London, UK
    #9
    yeah they broke this in bootcamp 1.2. It used to work perfectly, now even if I select to reboot in mac os under windows, it boots into windows. The only solutioin is to hold the alt key to boot into mac, then change it on the mac. Apple, please fix this before leopard!!
     
  10. Celeron macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    #10
    Same problem here as well! Very frustrating. I'm going to use my bootcamp partition in VMWare Fusion beta 3 for now. This works very well.
     

Share This Page