Boot Camp- "Disk error Press any key to restart"

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by jmaggraphics, Feb 26, 2012.

  1. jmaggraphics macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    #1
    Hello everyone, my name is John. I am in deep waters with my Intel Mac Mini (2007 or 2008) model. (Intel) I just installed leopard, (yes its 2012 and I came from tiger :rolleyes: ) anyways, I need help. I have formated the BOOTCAMP partiton wrong (leave as is) and it restarted. And gave me that message. But I have held down option, put my factory re-install disk in while holding c, and nothing happend, Please guys whatever it takes, I need this computer.

    PS. I am new to the forms,

    - any replies are welcome

    jmaggraphics@gmail.com

    John Magee :apple:
     
  2. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #2
    USB or BT keyboard?

    What happens if you just let it boot naturally with the install disc in the drive?

    B
     
  3. jmaggraphics thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    #3
    Wow! Thank you for the quick response mate! :)

    anyways, USB and it revs up than revs down, than switches to the screen showing "Disk error, Press anykey to restart." But I don't care if I have to reinstall the os, Just need to get this thing back up and running :eek:
     
  4. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #4
    With no disc in the ODD, what happens when you reboot holding Alt/Option?

    (I'm just trying to get you back to OS X if possible)

    B
     
  5. jmaggraphics, Feb 26, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 26, 2012

    jmaggraphics thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    #5
    Nothing at all, the same thing happened,


    Here is what I did..

    Turned on the machine holding ALT/OPTION and same message :eek:

    Any Ideas ?
     
  6. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #6
    Is this a US Apple USB Keyboard or is it localized Apple KB or a PC keyboard?

    Sorry for all the questions I'm just trying to eliminate variables.

    B
     
  7. jmaggraphics thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    #7

    No need to apologize, they are very valid :)

    But it is a Legit apple keyboard the new metal one USB (not wireless) US Language. Again, thank you for your quick responses! They are greatly appreciated :)

    EDIT: I am also not trying to repair the windows, I just want back into Mac OSX (even if we have to do a clean install)
     
  8. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #8
    Yeah, that's my immediate goal too.

    The fact that you can't seem to get any of the startup keys to work is what bothers me.

    The error is a Windows error. There is no question about that.

    You could try zapping PRAM. http://guides.macrumors.com/Resetting_the_PRAM to see if that might reset the boot disc to OS X, but you may somehow have deleted OS X.

    B
     
  9. jmaggraphics thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    #9
    I GOT IT !!! I used my G4 keyboard. Thanks buddy!:)
     
  10. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #10
    You sure this isn't a 2006 model?

    There is a known issue with the 2006 ones that the Aluminum keyboards do not work at boot.

    I have this problem with my 2006 iMac and use the remote to bring up the bootloader.

    B
     
  11. jmaggraphics thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    #11
    I got it in december of 2007 or 2006, so should I delete this parttiton?:p
     
  12. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #12
    Using Boot Camp Assistant over again is certainly the simplest way, but keep your G4 keyboard on it for now.

    B
     

Share This Page