Boot camp free space

aows51

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 22, 2017
10
0
Hello everyone,
I have 250 GB free space in my boot camp, can I use it to store my data in it? If yes, then how?
Thanks in advance
 

aows51

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 22, 2017
10
0
It sounds like you partitioned your hard drive for bootcamp. You can store anything you want in it for Windows.
I only have one partition in addition to the bootcamp, am trying to paste some data in bootcamp partition but but nothing happened.
 

aows51

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 22, 2017
10
0
I am not real sure of what you are doing but for you to move data from your MAC drive to your BootCamp drive, I am pretty sure you need to install an app for that. I have never tried and use BootCamp but all Windows data stays on the BootCamp drive.
Am not trying to install windows, my (Macintosh HD) partition got lower in space somehow, so am trying to move data to Bootcamp partition, that's all I need to do. Is it possible?
[doublepost=1492083457][/doublepost]
Am not trying to install windows, my (Macintosh HD) partition got lower in space somehow, so am trying to move data to Bootcamp partition, that's all I need to do. Is it possible?
؟؟
 

Newtons Apple

Suspended
Mar 12, 2014
22,764
14,920
Jacksonville, Florida
Am not trying to install windows, my (Macintosh HD) partition got lower in space somehow, so am trying to move data to Bootcamp partition, that's all I need to do. Is it possible?
[doublepost=1492083457][/doublepost]
؟؟
If no Windows why do you have a BootCamp partition???

You can delete it and recover all the space.
 
  • Like
Reactions: aows51

aows51

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 22, 2017
10
0
Thanks indeed for your helpful replies, I have more questions
1. My OS is ( 10.8.2) and I want to upgrade it to the last OS, I've googled a lot about that but am reading the comments which some people say it makes some problems.
So, what is the better solution to upgrade my OS according to your experience? Without causing any delete or errors to my previous data???
Thanks and sorry for the long question
 

Newtons Apple

Suspended
Mar 12, 2014
22,764
14,920
Jacksonville, Florida
Thanks indeed for your helpful replies, I have more questions
1. My OS is ( 10.8.2) and I want to upgrade it to the last OS, I've googled a lot about that but am reading the comments which some people say it makes some problems.

So, what is the better solution to upgrade my OS according to your experience? Without causing any delete or errors to my previous data???
Thanks and sorry for the long question
I am sorry but I can not help you on this. Seek out the proper forum here and there will be people who will help you.

Before you do this, I STRONGLY suggest you back up your data to a jump drive or CD before the upgrade.
 
  • Like
Reactions: aows51

aows51

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 22, 2017
10
0
I am sorry but I can not help you on this. Seek out the proper forum here and there will be people who will help you.

Before you do this, I STRONGLY suggest you back up your data to a jump drive or CD before the upgrade.
actually it is large in size, not easy to store them,
Q/ shall i lose data if i upgrade the OS??
 

DeltaMac

macrumors G3
Jul 30, 2003
9,536
2,304
Delaware
Not sure but I would say yes! It will likely reformat the entire disk before it installs the new OS.
That's not accurate, at all.
The install or upgrade process is (usually) quite safe, and I am sure about that. The upgrade will NOT reformat the disk, unless you choose to do that first. A simple reinstall or upgrade of the macOS just installs the system files, updating as it needs, and replacing outdated system files, and even does some cleanup of cache files.
The backup that I also recommend doing before you start is for "just in case something goes wrong", and should also keep you relaxed during the updates, as you could always go back, if you need - or want to do that.
And, of course, having a current backup of your system, and particularly your important files, is always a good idea...
 

aows51

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 22, 2017
10
0
That's not accurate, at all.
The install or upgrade process is (usually) quite safe, and I am sure about that. The upgrade will NOT reformat the disk, unless you choose to do that first. A simple reinstall or upgrade of the macOS just installs the system files, updating as it needs, and replacing outdated system files, and even does some cleanup of cache files.
The backup that I also recommend doing before you start is for "just in case something goes wrong", and should also keep you relaxed during the updates, as you could always go back, if you need - or want to do that.
And, of course, having a current backup of your system, and particularly your important files, is always a good idea...
thanks indeed for your feedback,
am working of some softwares that needs high performance, now if i installed windows on MACBOOK, shall i have the same performance comparing with the Windows laptops?
 

Newtons Apple

Suspended
Mar 12, 2014
22,764
14,920
Jacksonville, Florida
That's not accurate, at all.
The install or upgrade process is (usually) quite safe, and I am sure about that. The upgrade will NOT reformat the disk, unless you choose to do that first. A simple reinstall or upgrade of the macOS just installs the system files, updating as it needs, and replacing outdated system files, and even does some cleanup of cache files.
The backup that I also recommend doing before you start is for "just in case something goes wrong", and should also keep you relaxed during the updates, as you could always go back, if you need - or want to do that.
And, of course, having a current backup of your system, and particularly your important files, is always a good idea...
Thanks for helping the OP, I have never done an OS upgrade and did not know for sure and that IS accurate!
 

belvdr

macrumors 603
Aug 15, 2005
5,660
1,001
No longer logging into MR
thanks indeed for your feedback,
am working of some softwares that needs high performance, now if i installed windows on MACBOOK, shall i have the same performance comparing with the Windows laptops?
It depends on the individual machines' specifications (Mac included). If you wish to share the specs of the Mac and Windows machines and what type of workload, we can try to help.
 
  • Like
Reactions: aows51

aows51

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 22, 2017
10
0
It depends on the individual machines' specifications (Mac included). If you wish to share the specs of the Mac and Windows machines and what type of workload, we can try to help.
thanks everyone for all of your help and feedbacks