Boot camp free space

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by aows51, Apr 13, 2017.

  1. aows51 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    #1
    Hello everyone,
    I have 250 GB free space in my boot camp, can I use it to store my data in it? If yes, then how?
    Thanks in advance
     
  2. Newtons Apple Suspended

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #2
    It sounds like you partitioned your hard drive for bootcamp. You can store anything you want in it for Windows.
     
  3. aows51 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    #3
    I only have one partition in addition to the bootcamp, am trying to paste some data in bootcamp partition but but nothing happened.
     
  4. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #4
    That partition is created to install Windows.
     
  5. aows51 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    #5
    Can I use it to store my data?
     
  6. Newtons Apple Suspended

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #6
    I am not real sure of what you are doing but for you to move data from your MAC drive to your BootCamp drive, I am pretty sure you need to install an app for that. I have never tried and use BootCamp but all Windows data stays on the BootCamp drive.
     
  7. aows51 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    #7
    Am not trying to install windows, my (Macintosh HD) partition got lower in space somehow, so am trying to move data to Bootcamp partition, that's all I need to do. Is it possible?
    --- Post Merged, Apr 13, 2017 ---
    ؟؟
     
  8. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #8
  9. Newtons Apple Suspended

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #9
    If no Windows why do you have a BootCamp partition???

    You can delete it and recover all the space.
     
  10. aows51 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    #10
    Yes,right there is no windows installed, how can I recover all the space back to MAC?
     
  11. Newtons Apple Suspended

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #11
  12. aows51 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    #12
    Thanks indeed for your helpful replies, I have more questions
    1. My OS is ( 10.8.2) and I want to upgrade it to the last OS, I've googled a lot about that but am reading the comments which some people say it makes some problems.
    So, what is the better solution to upgrade my OS according to your experience? Without causing any delete or errors to my previous data???
    Thanks and sorry for the long question
     
  13. Newtons Apple Suspended

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #13
    I am sorry but I can not help you on this. Seek out the proper forum here and there will be people who will help you.

    Before you do this, I STRONGLY suggest you back up your data to a jump drive or CD before the upgrade.
     
  14. aows51 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    #14
    actually it is large in size, not easy to store them,
    Q/ shall i lose data if i upgrade the OS??
     
  15. Newtons Apple Suspended

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #15
    Not sure but I would say yes! It will likely reformat the entire disk before it installs the new OS.
     
  16. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #16
    That's not accurate, at all.
    The install or upgrade process is (usually) quite safe, and I am sure about that. The upgrade will NOT reformat the disk, unless you choose to do that first. A simple reinstall or upgrade of the macOS just installs the system files, updating as it needs, and replacing outdated system files, and even does some cleanup of cache files.
    The backup that I also recommend doing before you start is for "just in case something goes wrong", and should also keep you relaxed during the updates, as you could always go back, if you need - or want to do that.
    And, of course, having a current backup of your system, and particularly your important files, is always a good idea...
     
  17. aows51 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    #17
    thanks indeed for your feedback,
    am working of some softwares that needs high performance, now if i installed windows on MACBOOK, shall i have the same performance comparing with the Windows laptops?
     
  18. Newtons Apple Suspended

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #18
    Thanks for helping the OP, I have never done an OS upgrade and did not know for sure and that IS accurate!
     
  19. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #19
    It depends on the individual machines' specifications (Mac included). If you wish to share the specs of the Mac and Windows machines and what type of workload, we can try to help.
     
  20. aows51 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    #20
    thanks everyone for all of your help and feedbacks
     

Share This Page