Boot Camp/Fusion RAM problem

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by rontheancient, Feb 23, 2008.

  1. rontheancient macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    I recently got my 2008 mac pro and decided to use VMWare Fusion's ability to virtual boot off a Boot Camp partition. Aside from CS3/Microsoft activation issues, everything seems to be fine. However, some time after installing Fusion and XP (in Boot Camp), I added another 2GB of RAM for a total of 4GB. I set Fusion to use 2GB, but now, when I do a real boot into XP using Boot Camp, Windows only sees 2GB (1.99). I opened up 3DMark06 and it says the same thing. Anyone have a idea on whats going on here?

    Thanks.
     
  2. WildPalms macrumors 6502a

    WildPalms

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
  3. rontheancient thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    Whoops, sorry about that...

    Windows XP SP2 Pro
    Mac OS 10.5.2
    1.3TB HDD
    4.0GB RAM

    And Mac OS sees all 4GB BTW.
     
  4. Mr. Zarniwoop macrumors demi-god

    Mr. Zarniwoop

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    #4
    It's a limitation of Boot Camp, and has nothing to do with Fusion. 32-bit XP and 32-bit Vista see up to only 1.99GB of RAM in a Mac Pro.

    64-bit Vista (with Boot Camp 2.0.1 drivers available with the "early 2008" Mac Pro Leopard installation DVD) can address all your memory, but there are pros and cons to 64-bit Windows.
     
  5. rontheancient thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #5

    Not exactly the news I was hoping for, but thanks for all the help.
     

Share This Page