Boot Camp help?

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by feliperubin, Jan 3, 2015.

  1. feliperubin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    #1
    Hey, I'm Trying to use BootCamp here but when I go to the step of partitioning my HDD it gives me an error saying it couldn't be partitioned.

    How to fix it?
     
  2. feliperubin, Jan 4, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2015

    feliperubin thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    #3
    Yeah, it's not actually what I'm looking for..

    Anyone knows how to fix this?

    Already tried to disable FileVault

    Also:

    I have free 250GB and wanted to have 110GB on Mac and other partition with 140GB.
     
  3. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    If your HDD was turned into core storage, you may not able to partition it when using bootcamp.
     
  4. feliperubin thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    #5
    I don't think I have it turned into Core Storage.


    [​IMG]
     
  5. Mike Boreham macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    If it was Filevaulted it was core storage. I think if you turned off FileVault it would revert, if not you may need that other thread above about reverting. Disk Utility will tell you if it is corestorage.

    The other reason why creating the Bootcamp partition fails is (or used to be) if it can't find enough contiguous free space. In which case you have to back up, erase the disk and restore.
     
  6. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #7
    Not enough continuous space? If there are lots of data in some random location, bootcamp may give up and won't relocate the data and make the partition for you.

    Is it possible for you to run something like iDefrag and then try again?
     
  7. feliperubin thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    #8
    Well i could try iDefrag;

    I actually think my macbook already had FileVault on by default? Did not remember turning it on.

    I just discovered by diskutil that my HD has some issue and I have to use Disk Repair on the Security boot (i think it's how it's called) but don't have time right now to do this. I will try doing it later to see if this fix it.

    Just remembered i didn't put my specs:
    MacBook Pro 13-inch Late 2011
    OSX Mavericks
    Intel HD 3000
    16GB RAM
    SATA 500GB Toshiba
     
  8. feliperubin thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    #9
    News:

    I managed to fix that issue by entering safe mode and repairing some permissions on my disk ( it was something about the BootCamp Util itself).

    New Problem:

    I finished making the BootCamp Partitition, my MacBook rebooted and it appeared on the screen: No Bootable Device, even though i did have my Flash Drive with Windows 7 installation on it. Now, what should i do? Try re-doing windows installation on my Flash Drive? And then what? how do i boot on it. As BootCamp now shows "Remove Windows 7" instead of "Install windows 7"
     
  9. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #10
    Is that a bootable USB drive? If yes, you can just boot from it (by holding option during boot) and install Windows to that partition.

    And you can install the bootcamp apps / drivers manually after the Windows installation.
     
  10. feliperubin thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    #11
    Strange that my MacBook during the boot doesn't seem to recognize it. Will try it again tomorrow because here it's getting late.
     
  11. feliperubin thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    #12
    Hey guys, I got a problem here .-.

    My mac won't read the bootable usb. It won't appear when I start my MacBook holding the option key. It only shows my HD and a recovery partition.
     
  12. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #13
    Did you test the USB stick on other computer to check if it's bootable?

    Or can you choose that as the start up disk in the system preference?
     
  13. feliperubin thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    #14
    It doesn't appear on the startup disk config.

    I'm sure my image is working because i used it a week ago in a desktop i have.
     

Share This Page