Boot Camp Help

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by MetalShredder, Oct 27, 2008.

  1. MetalShredder macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    #1
    Hello,

    Today I purchased a copy of Windows Vista Basic to put on my Macbook Pro through Boot Camp.

    I backed up my files on my external Hardrive and partitioned my disk.

    Everything was going fine. I started up windows and it wasn't connected to the internet.

    I checked my Router and restarted it. Vista then told me that I needed to "Update my Drivers".

    Since I can't connect to the internet through my Macbook Pro I can't think of anyway too update them.


    Also everytime I restart my computer know it wants me to reinstall windows vista.

    Any Help would be gladly appreciated. Thanks!
     
  2. hunterjoules macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    #2
    You may be getting the re-install windows screen because the windows disk is still in the drive.

    Try this, reboot the machine, and when it says "Press any key to boot from CD/DVD" don't do anything, and after a few seconds Windows should load.

    Then, eject the Windows Disk, and insert your Max OS X Install Disk 1. Setup.exe should autoplay, and will install all of your remaining drivers, including networking drivers.

    You shouldn't need to connect to the Internet to download drivers; everything should be on the OS X disk.
     
  3. MetalShredder thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    #3
    Hey hunter,

    Thanks for the reply.

    This is going to sound really stupid but, I can't get the windows vista disk to eject from the drive.

    Any Tips?
     
  4. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #4
    Press (and hold for a couple seconds) the eject button.

    It's the underlined "up triangle." Or click & hold the mouse button when starting up.
     
  5. MetalShredder thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    #5
    Thanks for the Reply John.


    Know that I have the CD out. I Restarted My Mac and it automatically rebooted me in to Leopard.


    Hmmm. What should I do next?


    Also everytime I restart it boots me automatically into leopard. Should I re-insert my Vista disk?
     
  6. MetalShredder thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
  7. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #7
    Rebooting into Windows is simple. Power up (or reboot), and when you hear the chime, press & hold the Option (alt) key. You'll get an on-screen list of all the bootable devices. Pick the one you want and have at it.

    You can also change the default boot device in both Mac Preferences and Windows Control Panel, but the Option key will always work.

    For drivers, once Windows is booted & idle, insert the Leopard DVD. It'll auto-run and install the needed drivers.
     
  8. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #8

    When powering up try holding down the option key ( Alt ) a bootloader should appear,you can then boot into what OS you choose to, you can also chose which OS you want to reboot into by going into system prefs > startup disk. Dont forget to install the drivers from the install or leopard disk once in windows

    bloody hell john beat me to it
     
  9. MetalShredder thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
  10. MetalShredder thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    #10
    Okay So I held down ( Alt ) at start up. Booted into windows.

    But when I put in my start up disk, windows did nothing. It just made a bunch of weird noises, and spat out the Leopard disk.
     
  11. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #11

    This happened to me once after a reinstall of windows, i just made sure the disk was clean ( warm soapy water ) & tried till it worked
     
  12. MetalShredder thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    #12
    I'll try that.


    But I Inserted disk 2 of the Leopard disks ( Instead of Disk 1 ). And Still nothing came up, and it just spat out the disk.
     
  13. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #13
    Give the disk cleaning thing ago, i have the retail version of leopard ( one disk ) and just kept on shoving the disk in & after a couple of spit outs it auto loaded
     
  14. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #14
    So did it work then? oh & just for the record the iMac in your sigs tiny shouldn't that be 24'' & not 2.4"
     
  15. MetalShredder thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    #15
    So I cleaned my disk. Re-inserted it numerous times. It just keeps spitting it out.


    I got curious, So I inserted "Call of Duty 4" (The Windows Version) in, and it spat that out too.
     
  16. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #16
    I dunno what else to suggest then, you could try popping disks in while in OS X and see if its still spitting them out, if it does maybe your superdrive's at fault & a phone call or trip to a Apple store is in order
     

Share This Page