Boot Camp in Leopard

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by rayward, Oct 16, 2007.

  1. rayward macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #1
    Does it eliminate the need to get a 3rd party app to run Windows?
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    You never needed a 3rd party application to run Windows.
     
  3. fishkorp macrumors 68020

    fishkorp

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Location:
    Ellicott City, MD
    #3
    if you're asking for virtualization, the answer is no, it's still a partion and reboot solution.
     
  4. rayward thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #4
    So, if I don't have something like Parallels, I'll have to shut down and re-start in Windows?

    Sorry if this seems dense, but I have held off switching to Mac (my wife has an iMac, though) because I'm a heavy Quicken user and Quicken for Mac (by all reports) blows. I want to be able to fast-switch to Windows to get to Quicken, but otherwise I'll be using Mac software.
     
  5. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #5
    Rebooting isn't that much of a pain for free. :rolleyes:
     
  6. ivi7 macrumors 6502a

    ivi7

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #6
    Yes
     
  7. Virgil-TB2 macrumors 65816

    Virgil-TB2

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    #7
    The good news is that Quicken has seen the dollar signs in the air with the resurgance of the Mac platform, and announced (last week?) that it will be putting out far less crappy versions of their software for Mac in the near future.

    They didn't exactly put it that way ("less crappy"), but you get the drift. :)
     
  8. rayward thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #8
    My main issue is the in(un?)convertibility of data from the Windows version. I didn't spend years building up my history just to cough it all up in a conversion to Mac. That, and the fact that scheduled transactions and online payee data don't port over. That's just silly.


    ETA: 2007 for Mac isn't even Universal. Talk about red-headed stepchild.
     

Share This Page