Boot Camp installing windows

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by iamjustin, Aug 17, 2007.

  1. iamjustin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #1
    I am installing Windows XP on my mbp with boot camp. everything went well until i had to install windows. the boot camp says "The installer CD cannot be found. Insert your windows cd and wait a few seconds for the disk to be recognized" what the **** is wrong with it? i know the computer is reading the disc i can go inside the files of the disk and look around so that isnt a problem, whatr is?
     
  2. 66217 Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    #2
    What type of Windows XP is it?

    Does it has SP2?
     
  3. anirban macrumors 6502a

    anirban

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #3
    Also make sure that it is not a Windows XP "Upgrade" CD, but rather a full retail version of the OS.

    Also, make sure that the Windows XP version that you are trying to install is 32bit, as opposed to 64bit.
     
  4. iamjustin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #4
    alright and how do i find out that? all i know is its a single cd direct copy of the original windows xp cd
     
  5. 66217 Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    #5
    So you are not using the original CD??

    It is very possible that is the reason it is not working.
     
  6. iamjustin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #6
    really? becuase this is the direct copy of the windows xp cd, and i have used this cd to re-install windows on my desktop pc
     
  7. 66217 Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    #7
    Why don't you try with the original CD?
     
  8. iamjustin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #8
    okay, ill do that shortly to let you know how it goes, and how do u know if its that 32 bit or wat ever?
     
  9. 66217 Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    #9
    Ir normally says that in the box. If I am correct, it is in the lower-right corner.
     
  10. iamjustin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
  11. 66217 Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
  12. JT103 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Location:
    London, UK
    #12
    I also get the same message during my bootcamp installation of xp... I'm trying to install a full version of xp pro SP2 from a dvd containing the necessary ISO file. Has anyone else had any problems using a dvd, does it need to be on a cd?
     
  13. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #13
    Mount the ISO file in OSX, then open Disk Utility and choose to burn the mounted image, that will work :)
     
  14. JT103 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Location:
    London, UK
    #14
    so you cant just burn the ISO file to dvd normally.... i.e. opening the blank dvd and dragging the iso to it and pressing burn?
     
  15. ph0rk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Location:
    OK
    #15
    No, you've merely made a disc with an image file of a disc on it - you want to burn a copy of the disc the image file is of - think of it as plans for a disc. You'll need some application like toast.


    And be certain it is XP with SP2, otherwise you'll have to slipstream SP2 and rebuild the disc, which is somewhat time consuming.
     
  16. gfreaky macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    #16
    After partitioning, put the XP CD in and reboot. While the system is booting up, hold down the Option key and then select the CD drive when it appears. This should start the install process.


    -GF

    Edit: P.S. Be sure to choose your partition during the XP setup or you will erase all of your Mac stuff!
     
  17. JT103 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Location:
    London, UK
    #17
    No joy... I've mounted the disk image and then burnt it as suggested. Also tried rebooting and holding down the option key with the XP CD in but i dont get the option to select the CD drive, only Mac HD appears???
     
  18. JT103 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Location:
    London, UK
    #18
    I've decided to pursue a different root and slipstream my own XP Pro SP2 cd. Quick question though... I've been following these instructions: http://www.theeldergeek.com/slipstreamed_xpsp2_cd.htm and got to the bit where you need to extract the .img file from the windows xp cd, however when I open IsoBuster and point to my xp cd it doesn't appear to contain the necessary "Microsoft Corporation.img" file (presumably because its not a legitimate copy of xp) anyway, I have a separate xp home ed. recovery cd that does contain this image file, I was wondering whether I could extract this and use it in the slipstream of up pro sp2? Is the .img file (boot file) specific to the version of xp or is it generic?
     
  19. Tommie Montana macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    #19
    I've had similar problems. I couldn't install windows because boot camp didn't recognize my cd. After a while I tried logging out and logging in as an admin (I normally run as a regular user) and bingo, that worked.

    I hope that maybe solves your problem. If you're not an admin it doesn't work (at least not for me).
     

Share This Page