Boot camp: Is it possible to install Windows 7 on El Capitan

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Dweez, May 14, 2017.

  1. Dweez macrumors 65816

    Dweez

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Location:
    Down by the river
    #1
    I *really* dislike windows 8 & windows 10. Is there a workaround for installing windows 7 on El Capitan? The machine is a mid 2015 RMBP.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. nollimac, May 14, 2017
    Last edited: May 14, 2017

    nollimac macrumors regular

    nollimac

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    #2
    Yes, to the question in bolt type...Parallels, VirtualBox, VMware...but before you do, it's best to maxed out your RAM. Then, you could have Windows 7, 8, and 10 virtual machines. BTW, I have both Parallels and VirtualBox with Ubuntu, Fedora, Windows XP, Windows 7 Ultimate, Windows 10, Solaris, CentOS, SUSE, FreeBSD, and pfSense all on a 2008 Macbook Pro 17" all running great except memory hungry Windows 10 which runs slow on 6GB RAM laptop.
     
  3. Dweez thread starter macrumors 65816

    Dweez

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Location:
    Down by the river
    #3
    Thanks for the input, nollimac. I've been using Fusion on the box for quite some time, but I'm on a mission to natively boot win7. If it's not possible, so be it. I'd not used boot camp for a year or so, and was bummed to see that win8 was the minimum requirement.
     
  4. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #4
    It's not a limitation of El Capitan, exactly. Apple's list of what version of Windows can be installed in Boot Camp seems to be mostly hardware-based. See this Apple Support article and the others linked on the page.

    I don't know of a workaround but that doesn't mean there isn't one.
     
  5. StuBFrost macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    #5
    I run windows 7 on a Mac mini that has sierra on it so you should be able to do it with El Capitan. I found a couple of websites that show how to do it.
     
  6. chscag macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas
    #6
    Like member BrianBaughn stated about the limitation of El Capitan, the same goes for Sierra. The limitation has to do with the hardware. A Mid 2015 rMBP can only run Win 8 or 10 without a work around.
     
  7. StuBFrost macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    #7
    Ah, sorry missed the part about the hardware.
     

Share This Page