Boot Camp is now 64-bit enabled!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Macintosh Sauce, Feb 9, 2008.

  1. Macintosh Sauce macrumors 6502

    Macintosh Sauce

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    I downloaded the 64-bit Boot Camp installer files for the newer mac pro, and installed them on my older Mac Pro after installing Vista Ultimate (64-bit). Absolutely impressive!

    Take a look at the RAM... Windows Vista can now address ALL 16 GB of RAM in my older quad core Mac Pro! What a difference it makes too! :D

    [​IMG]
     
  2. iMpathetic macrumors 68030

    iMpathetic

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    IMBY
    #2
    w00t! Yay! I'll tell that to Dad who is buying a 2.8GHz iMac with 4GB RAM.
     
  3. samh004 macrumors 68020

    samh004

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/420.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.0 Mobile/4A93 Safari/419.3)

    Unfortunately the new bootcamp only supposedly supports 64-bit vista on the mac pro. The iMac will need different drivers as it's a different processor.
     
  4. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
  5. anim8or macrumors 65816

    anim8or

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    #5
    Where did you download the bootcamp 64 bit drivers....
     
  6. luffytubby macrumors 6502a

    luffytubby

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    #6
    its such a shame that Imac OSX Leopard and vista 32 bit both only can adress 4 Gig Ram.
     
  7. samh004 macrumors 68020

    samh004

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #7
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/420.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.0 Mobile/4A93 Safari/419.3)

    Yes but I couldn't link to that from my touch :p
     
  8. Macintosh Sauce thread starter macrumors 6502

    Macintosh Sauce

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    Someone that bought the new Mac Pro put them on BitTorrent. :) Can't wait for the official update of Boot Camp with 10.5.2... Note that with the new version of Boot Camp coming, there are 32-bit and 64-bit drivers in the folder. Windows Vista Ultimate (64-bit) is running quite nicely I might add.

    Right now, Steam is updating so I can play Day of Defeat: Source with all this RAM available. I am going to keep the 32-bit version of Vista Ultimate (that was on my Mac Pro) for when I get a new MacBook - very soon. I did not register it within 30 days, so I will be OK to reinstall it on a MacBook.
     
  9. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #9
    This is old news, but OP I'm happy you got it working.
     
  10. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #10

    The drivers are no longer in a package inside bootcamp.They are on the install disk.
     
  11. Volante macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #11
    Does the new Mac Pro's have 64-bit enabled out of the box?
     
  12. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #12
    If you have a new Mac Pro and install Vista 32-Bit the Mac Pro install disk will put 32-bit drivers on Vista.

    If you install 64-Bit Vista the install disk will put 64-Bit drivers on it.
     
  13. rds macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    #13
    Why do you only get 5.8 on the Vista spec jobby? Hard disk?
     

Share This Page