Boot Camp Issue: No Wireless Connection on XP

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by LuhReeUh, Mar 30, 2008.

1. LuhReeUh macrumors newbie

LuhReeUh

Ok, so I just bought the new Blackbook, and I decided to install XP so that I can use Office and play my Launchcast radio. Now, the install went fine (using Boot Camp), but I cannot for the life of me figure out why I cannot connect to the internet wirelessly on the XP side. Of course everything's great on the Mac side.

Let me also preface this by saying I am a novice at best when it comes to Mac. This is my first Apple product.

So, I am able to connect to the net with a direct ethernet connection, but my wireless connection setup says that it is "acquiring network address". I've already tried uninstalling the driver and then reinstalling it. In addition, I also noticed that my IP address wasn't showing up, so I manually put it in. After that, I was sure that everything would work, but although it now shows "connected", I still cannot connect to the internet. I noticed that the speed shown is only 54mbps, but when I connect with the ethernet cord, it's 100mbps. I have no idea what to do next. I've scoured the internet and the forums, but I haven't found anything that has worked.

Does anyone have advice??

Thanks.

2. katejones macrumors regular

katejones

54mbps is wireless G, so thats normal, I know when I bootcamped xp, I just selected my wireless network off the list and put my password in when prompted and that was it. Whn you set your IP manually did you set the rest of the options corectly, like the gateway and dns?

3. LuhReeUh thread starter macrumors newbie

LuhReeUh

Thanks...

Good to know about the Wirless G. Yeah, I wrote down all the information, and double checked it after I input the IP address, DNS server, etc.

4. Jpoon macrumors 6502