Boot Camp issues (/Volumes)

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by Cablekevin, Sep 11, 2014.

  1. Cablekevin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    #1
    Hi Guys,

    I recently received my new rMBP 15" and i've installed bootcamp with the bootcamp assistant. I've used it for about a couple of weeks now and problems are starting to appear.

    Normally when i want to boot into windows i've used "Startup disk" and selected the bootcamp partition and booted into windows perfectly. And when i wanted to switch back to OSX i've used the bootcamp tool to boot back into OSX.

    The problem is "Startup disk" isn't working anymore it's throwing me an error and i think i know why it throws that error because of the following: http://puu.sh/butqf/947fc7a4b3.png

    When i checkup the /Volumes folder i'm seeing some strange things: http://puu.sh/butkS/c3d30831c4.png Windows is located in "BOOTCAMP 6".

    Anyone knows something about this issue or why is even occurred, and how to fix this?

    I've already ****ed up a bootcamp installation a while ago on my old MBP, and I'm hoping i can save this one without ****ing it up again.

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Cablekevin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    #2
    Sorry for my first (and last) bump, but does anyone recognise this problem? :(
     
  3. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #3
    Can you just hold option key during start to choose the bootcamp partition?

    Did you try to boot into the recovery partition to repair disk and permissions?
     
  4. Cablekevin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    #4
    I can still boot with the option key, and i've already tried to repair the disk permissions, but that didn't help either.

    The issue is that it's inconvenient that i can't use "Startup disk" and that my mountpoint changes every time i boot.
     
  5. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #5
    I think that the app called "Bootchamp" may be a better choice for you...
    http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/28468/bootchamp
    It allows you to restart to your Windows partition, without actually changing the boot drive. Then, to reboot to OS X, you simply restart. Your boot drive remains on OS X, and you shouldn't accumulate all those phantom volumes.
     
  6. Cablekevin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    #6
    DeltaMac, thats basically doing the same thing as the "Startup disk" tool.

    [​IMG]
     
  7. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #7
    I found this beta for Bootchamp 2.0
    http://kainjow.com/downloads/BootChamp2beta.zip
    It might help with your issue, which might be caused by the new Macs (since 2012, I think) that boot using an EFI process - somewhat different from older Macs.

    Are you able to boot successfully to either your bootcamp partition, or your OS X partition by using the Option-boot screen? (If you are not sure about that, it's simply restarting, and holding the option key. Choose your boot system from that screen.)
     
  8. Cablekevin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    #8
    It's been a while, i completely forgot about this thread. Well, bootchamp is just a shortcut for what the startup disk tool does (bootchamp is handy when it works btw!).

    The option bootscreen allows me to use the other partition, but it's driving me crazy that i can't boot from OSX to Win, and that the number keeps getting bigger.

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page