Boot Camp Leftovers; Partitions Table Screwed?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Future Blues, Dec 2, 2007.

  1. Future Blues macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    #1
    So I went to install Boot Camp this weekend and ran into a problem with my XP CD. I couldn't install it to the partition I made, so I went back to OS X and told Boot Camp to give up and restore my HD to one single partition, which it did without a problem... (I'm going to try again later when I get around to picking up a copy of Vista.)

    However, now whenever I do a cold boot, I get the "No Bootable Device -- Insert a boot disk and press any key to continue" screen. (This is a DOS screen and thus a remnant from the failed windows install / partitioning.)

    I don't have any problem accessing the HD if I hold ALT, but I'd rather not have to hold ALT every time I boot in the future just to select my primary, solitary HD.

    Is there anyway to remedy this problem, or am I looking at a potential Leopard wipe/re-install? I've already run Disk First Aid and tried Repairing Permissions and the symptoms haven't changed at all.
     
  2. ingenious macrumors 65832

    ingenious

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia, United States (Kansan in exile)
    #2
    I don't really know about Boot Camp, but can you run the assistant again and tell it to restore your partitions (or just to repartition...)?
     
  3. flyinmac macrumors 68030

    flyinmac

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Location:
    United States
    #3
    Try booting into OS X.

    Then, go to the Apple menu and system preferences.

    Then, go to startup disks.

    Then, choose your OS X partition and choose reboot.

    See if that fixes it for you.

    Hopefully, that will take care of it.
     
  4. Future Blues thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    #4
    Yeah, I ended up going into the System Preferences just to make sure that I wasn't missing something obvious and it turned out that I just need to do this to fix it.

    Thanks for the help.

    Seems my other error might not be my Windows CD at fault after all. Apparently it's a common problem with a workaround, so I may try again with this CD before I give up on it. =)
     
  5. flyinmac macrumors 68030

    flyinmac

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Location:
    United States
    #5
    Sorry it wasn't that simple. Thought I'd mention it just in-case.

    Let us know what you find.
     

Share This Page