Boot Camp Setup Assistant not on Leopard

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by GSMiller, Dec 8, 2007.

  1. GSMiller macrumors 68000

    GSMiller

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #1
    I'm trying to install Windows XP on a friends MacBook which runs Leopard but Boot Camp Setup Assistant is not in the Utilities folder so what am I to do? I've searched the internet but haven't found anything helpful.
     
  2. GSMiller thread starter macrumors 68000

    GSMiller

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #2
    Okay so now we were able to install Windows by copying Boot Camp Setup Assistant from my iMac to her MacBook HOWEVER we're still having problems. For one, when you boot her MB it automatically boots into Windows. Then when you press and hold OPTION during boot up, it only shows Macintosh HD, no Windows HD. And finally the Boot Camp partition is displayed as "NO NAME" in Leopard.
     
  3. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #3
    Didn't search that hard ;)


    Did you partition the drive as FAT32, the new macbooks have a bug where they can't see FAT32, at the bootloader point.

    re: NO NAME do you want to change it or not have it appearing. To change it boot into windows and change the name of the c drive to whatever you want and if you do not want it appearing on the desktop in Leopard put a full stop in front of the name, i.e. ".Bootcamp" no quotes.

    You can choose the boot drive in Windows like you can in Leopard by using the boot camp utility ( in the system tray IIRC)
     
  4. GSMiller thread starter macrumors 68000

    GSMiller

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #4
    Yes it was formatted with FAT32 so that explains why it won't show up in the bootloader, but why is her MacBook booting into Windows automatically? We want it to still boot into OS X by default. Plus none of the drivers for her hardware installed with Boot Camp but I believe I know how to solve that problem.
     
  5. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #5
    To install the drivers put in the install disk when in Windows.

    It automatically boots into Windows as it must be the option chosen in preferences. After you have installed all the drivers etc. there should be a system tray icon for bootcamp which i believe will give you the option of choosing the booting partition. If it is not there then check the start menu for something that is probably named bootcamp .
     
  6. GSMiller thread starter macrumors 68000

    GSMiller

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #6
    She was able to install the drivers.

    Now I'm off to see about how to change it from FAT32 to NTFS :)

    Thanks for all the help xUKHCx. You've helped out a girl who has been dying to play Sims 2 for a week :p
     
  7. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #7
    To convert you can follow the instructions give on this page. It is a very simple process.

    Before you do this you may want to be aware of the pros and cons of each format.

    FAT32
    Can read/write to the windows partition from OS X
    Some bug with the new SRMBs
    Filesize limit of 4GBs

    NTFS
    No 4GB limit
    no apparent bug
    can't write from OS X

    I'm sure there are probably other but i can't think of them as of now.

    Now you can get around not being able to write by using Macfuse if you really need to.

    edit:
    slighty more than a typo you added the link ;)
    see you found the right page, it was linked in a link on this page.


    No problem BTW.
     

Share This Page