Boot camp troubles - any advice?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by rodh257, May 2, 2011.

1. rodh257 macrumors newbie

Hi all,
    Here's a little back story about my setup, you can probably skip if you don't want to read it:
    -----
    I recently bought my first macbook pro, 13" 2011 model. I'm a windows developer so I needed to run windows on it, so what I did was put an OCZ Vertex 2 SSD in the optibay and installed windows on it, and cloned my OSX from the 5400RPM drive that comes with the macbook onto a new 500gb 7200RPM drive. So I have two separate drives for the two separate operating systems.

I had all sorts of trouble setting this up, because the 2011 MBP's don't boot from USB, I had to take my SSD out of the optibay and replace the DVD Drive, put the SSD in the main bay, install windows then swap it back.

-----

It mostly worked though, I could swap between the OS's using bootcamp, or reefit - both worked. However last week all of a sudden I just couldn't boot into windows, I got a black screen with a blinking cursor. As this is my work PC, and my superdrive was at home, I couldn't boot from a windows disk to do a startup recovery. I wasted a day trying to workout how I could repair this from within OSX, mostly screwing around with vmware/parallels to try get it to run a repair from a windows disk to no avail. I went home, swapped the drives again, and ran the repair.

However now my boot camp won't work, I have to use reefit to open up windows when I want to boot. Occasionally it just won't boot from reefit at all either. I tried going into boot camp assistant but there is no way to repair the boot camp partition without wiping the drive, which is a pain.

On top of this, I've got a number of other problems:
    - Windows on my SSD won't hibernate or sleep without crashing windows. Is this normal? is there a way to fix this?
    - I now can't set it to boot into windows by default.