Boot Camp using Windows 8.1 .iso file?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by tuna, Sep 4, 2014.

1. tuna macrumors 6502

I have an MSDN subscription so I was able to download an .iso file of Windows 8.1 (and I have valid license keys to go along with this).

What do I need to do with the .iso to prepare for installing Windows 8.1 using Boot Camp?

Burning a DVD would be straightforward but the relevant computer doesn't have an optical drive.

Do I need to make a bootable USB? How would that be done on a Mac computer?

Alternatively, can I just use the .iso in Boot Camp without any other preparation?

2. TurnerMartin macrumors regular

TurnerMartin

Boot camp Assistant gives you the option to prepare a USB drive from there, you need obviously the .iso downloaded from your MSDN site.

Don't think you can bootcamp your mac using only the .iso image.

3. tuna thread starter macrumors 6502

Yeah since nobody was helping me last night I was doing some research on my own. Turns out that only Macs that don't come standard with optical drives support the "prepare Windows USB drive" option and then the eventual install from USB rather than from a DVD. Macs that come standard with optical drives only support installing Windows using an actual DVD. Which is a dumb arbitrary limitation, there are obviously several macs with optical drives that are newer than many of the earlier models to drop the optical drive.

I am trying to install this on a 2011 17" MBP, which came with a Superdrive, but I had taken it out to install an SSD :confused:.