Boot Camp --> VMware Fusion

Discussion in 'iMac' started by 08mxkfx, Aug 12, 2008.

  1. 08mxkfx macrumors regular

    08mxkfx

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    #1
    I currently have Windows XP Pro installed on my iMac using Boot Camp. Im think aobut get VMware Fusion so i can use both windows and mac os at the same time. Would i need to unistall the windows i have installed with bootcamp in order to run VWware fusion?
     
  2. Mindflux macrumors 68000

    Mindflux

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Location:
    Austin
    #2
    Nope! You can tell fusion to use your bootcamp partition :)
     
  3. 08mxkfx thread starter macrumors regular

    08mxkfx

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    #3
    sweet so i just install VMware fusion and tell it to use my boot camp partion and then i can use windows and macos at the same time. I love macs, they make everything so simple.
     
  4. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #4
    TBH, that was VMWare's doing. It automatically recognizes a BC installation, so no additional activation is required.
     
  5. vestigo74 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    #5
    Oh that's just frickin brilliant. I was wondering how I was going to set this up so both Parallels and BC used the same partition... looks like I'll be using VMWare instead of Parallels!
     
  6. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #6
    Parallels does the same thing; it sees the BC partition and doesn't require reinstallation. I've used both, I just prefer Fusion.
     
  7. CristobalHuet macrumors 65816

    CristobalHuet

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Location:
    Montreal
    #7
    I'm gonna be using VMWare, no Boot Camp for me.
     
  8. vestigo74 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    #8
    Oh nice. I need to sit down and compare the two products...
     
  9. quid squid macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Location:
    los angeles
    #9
    i tried VMWare first, but then realized it's not powerful enough to play most 3D games. tried with Battlefield 2 and it would start the game but then go black and crash. ended up going with BC and it works fine.
     
  10. iMav macrumors 6502

    iMav

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Location:
    Columbus, WI
    #10
    For those going with a pure virtualization solution (no boot camp). You owe it to yourself to take a look at VirtualBox before paying for Parallels or VMWare.
     
  11. CristobalHuet macrumors 65816

    CristobalHuet

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Location:
    Montreal
    #11
    That's true, I messed around with it a while back, good stuff.
     

Share This Page