Boot Camp windows intall. . .

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by 3rdeye1111, Dec 5, 2007.

  1. 3rdeye1111 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    #1
    Going in circles. I start up Boot Camp, make a partition, begin installation, choose the bootcamp partition during install runs through then on restart it asks me to "Press any key to boot from CD" and if I don't do that in time it says "Disk Error and Press any key to restart" So to continue I have to press any key and then it takes me back to choosing a partition again.

    Trying to install Windows XP pro SP2...new to Mac too so I'm probably missing something simple. Read through the .pdf and can't find the answer.

    Cheers.
     
  2. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #2
    hi had same prob as you ( see thread page 2 or maybe 3 now ) its something to do with not formatting the xp partition during the install. Go back make the xp partition again install xp follow to were the page comes up about formatting i chose the line under i think it was quick formatt SORTED

    Hope this helps
     
  3. 3rdeye1111 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    #3
    How did you format the partition without doing it through install? You use disk utility and how would I go about doing that there?
     
  4. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #4
    hi right go back into boot camp assisistant in osx delete the xp partition by following the instructions,create a new partition and how large you want it to be, put in xp disc when promted
    follow instructions and when you come to the formatt bit just make sure you do formatt the partition i chose the line below quick formatt let us know if this works as it drove me mad too

    neil
     
  5. 3rdeye1111 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    #5
    I don't make it to that part tho...I just made a video of what happens, I shall post the link it momentarily.
     
  6. 3rdeye1111 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
  7. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #7
    hi by the look of it your trying to install xp on the wrong partition at the start
    of the vid/install just go down to were it says boot camp partition and install
    there it should say the size of the partition you made

    hi just looked closer seems you already doing this have you tried cleaning the xp disc no scratches
    etc
     
  8. 3rdeye1111 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    #8
    I doubt there's an issue with the disc unless it's missing files...it's a back up copy. It installed fine using VMware Fusion so I'm not sure why it wouldn't work with Boot camp. This is pretty damn frustrating.
     
  9. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #9
    hi again the only other thing i can think of is to try another copy of xp as this
    will determin if its the mac or disk. if it turns out to be the mac try re installing
    leopard and starting from scratch do a erase and install but just make sure
    you back up stuff

    neil
     
  10. rvpete macrumors member

    rvpete

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Location:
    Vienna
    #10
    hei, i've got EXACTLY the same problem

    After looking into the help section of leopard it says :
    Well, the one thing is, I don't see the option to just reformat the partition, just deleting it and making a new one. After I did reformatted and let the first part of the installer run over the partition, my mac rebooted and gave me the message:

    Missing file hal.dll .. blablabla reinstall

    now whats that supposed to mean after a fresh install? does my mac wanna tell me, "try to install windows again, and I'll play hal2000 and kill you?"

    Used a legit University Windows XP Professional SP2 which I bought just for boot camp :(

    (It doesn't need CD key and is legit as long as I am in the University, doesn't matter if student or professor)


    What now? I just want Windows on my iMac so i can start it in one of the 4 spaces of leopard so i can switch between os x and windows :( (somebody told me this is possible)
     
  11. 3rdeye1111 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    #11
    Alright, I used a friends copy of XP and it ran through set up fine. That's a relief! Cheers for the suggestions.
     
  12. hamsterburger macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #12
    Hi guys.

    I have the same problem. Tried it first installing on the fat32 drive with "keep file system" Got the same mesage as in the youtube video:
    "Press any key to restart from CD....."
    "Disk error"
    "Press any key to restart"

    Also the Windows CD refused to eject and this just continued in an endles cycle.

    Than I tried Quick formating to NTSC in the Win install.
    Now i just boot directly in to Leopard.
    How can boot in to the win install? This is really frustrating. Any suggestions?
     
  13. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #13
    hi go back delete your bootcamp partition (using the assistant) re-create your xp partition when the stuff comes
    up about formatting use the line under quick formatting
    you should then be able to eject the cd once windows has installed
     
  14. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #14
    glad to have helped could have only been the disc
     
  15. rvpete macrumors member

    rvpete

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Location:
    Vienna
    #15
    ok, when reformatting, i need it as FAT32, i MUST NOT take the quickformat thingy but the normal one? Did i get this right?

    I dont want again this stupid windows installation starts to annoy me :mad: (sry this sentences just doesnt ake any sense .... and I am to lazy to think the whole thing in english over >_<)
     
  16. Slarti42 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    #16
    Same problem. Boot Camp Assistant runs fine, formatting runs fine, first step of installation runs fine, but when I reboot - why does my iMac want to boot directly from the DVD, not proceeding the installation? Anyway, when I did the install I wondered why the formatting worked so incredibly fast ... maybe it's got to do something with it.

    I'm using Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit OEM and a 2.0 GHz aluminum iMac. By the way, I'm also from Vienna and annoyed by guys not using commas ...
     
  17. Hmac macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    #17
    I had the same problem - exact same screens. It turned out it was because I had set the partition at 50 gigabytes and was trying to format it in FAT32 (default). I finally RTFM, deleted the partition via Boot Camp assistant and changed the partition to 32 gig the install went fine.
     
  18. rvpete macrumors member

    rvpete

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Location:
    Vienna
    #18
    well I never had the partition bigger then 32 GB, i clicked use 32 GB

    and yeah, i hate smartpants:rolleyes:
     
  19. Hmac macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    #19
    IIRC, Quickformat is only under the NTFS option. You could use NTFS, but I'd only do so if I was using a partition bigger than 32 gb and I believe that's the only advantage. The default will be FAT32. Note that you choose that in the Windows setup screens, but you choose the partition size in Boot Camp Assistant.
     
  20. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #20
     
  21. Hmac macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    #21
    I want to be able to read/write to that Boot Camp partition from within OSX, so I used FAT32.
     
  22. rvpete macrumors member

    rvpete

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Location:
    Vienna
    #22
    my problem is, i have to delete the partition so i can reformat it, why ever windows installer wont allow me to reformat the partition i want to use :(
     

Share This Page