Boot camp windows vista and ATI 4850

Discussion in 'iMac' started by ronel129, Apr 16, 2009.

  1. ronel129 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    #1
    Hey has any one tried installing boot camp on the 4850. I been trying for the past couple of hours and i keep getting blue screens of death after i load up the drivers. Also, i cant seem to fine the 4850 graphics drivers anywhere.
     
  2. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #2
    Which drivers are you using? The ones off the install DVD? If those don't work have you tried the ones off the ATI/AMD site?
     
  3. ronel129 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    #3
    Am using the boot camp drivers in the install CD. I went to ATI/AMD website and i cant seem to find any vista drivers for the mobility 4850 only the desktop version.
     
  4. idreaminbeige macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    #4
    best way ive found is if you use a program called 'mobility modder' which alters the desktop 4850 drivers for use with the mobility card.

    Download and walkthrough can be found here:
    http://www.driverheaven.net/modtool.php

    I guess the mobility version is still too new for any updated drivers. The only PC i've even seen it in besides the imac is a gaming laptop that came out at the start of 2009.

    Hope this helps, let me know Have to do the same thing myself when my imac arrives tomorrow!

    Are you using vista 64bit btw? Hoping the bootcamp isses where you have to manually install half the drivers yourself has been dealt with...
     
  5. ronel129 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    #5
    Nice thanks i gotta try that program out. I been busy with work so i havent had time to deal with only yesterday at night for a few hours. I am thinking of trying windows XP an see. Vista was 32 bit by the way and let me know once yours arrives and you try boot camp if it works for you. I think for now just going to try xp an hopefully that works i just bought left 4 dead an still havent been able to play it! lol.
     
  6. d510r9 macrumors newbie

    d510r9

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    #6
    Not sure this is much help to you but I got my iMac 24" ATI 4850 yesterday. I have build 7077 of Windows 7 - I made a partition through boot camp and the installation was very straight forward - all except that :apple: are not supporting x64 bit versions of Vista (or 7 at all). This meant that sound initially didn't work but a simple workaround and it was sorted. A couple of other things still need to be worked out but you can use Mac Pro Leopard drivers to fix them.

    I didn't have to do anything to get ATI drivers - it all worked on the first run (it sees the 4850 card as a mobility version).

    Just for the record my system scores 6.2 (hard drive 5.9) in Windows 7. I installed Crysis and it ran nicely in DX10 mode under the following settings:

    1280x1024
    2x AA
    All settings on High

    The only thing that is not working at all is my table as a mouse pad surface (and the sheets of A3 paper are doing a pretty bad job too). :)
     
  7. jmpage2 macrumors 68030

    jmpage2

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #7
    What kind of a framerate was reported for Crysis with those settings? Thanks.
     
  8. d510r9 macrumors newbie

    d510r9

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    #8
    Sorry but I'm not sure how to find that out - can you give me any help? The frame rate is pretty good, no choppiness at all - there is some slight pop in of scenery in the distance though.

    I'm also trying to figure out how to monitor the GPU temp. I tried something called RivaTuner but i can't seem to turn on low level hardware monitoring.
    In OS X my GPU is steady around 57c - if I quickly exit Windows 7 and go back into OS X the temp is initially 63c and within 5 mins is back to 57c. I'm guessing this means it's up around 70c under full load. I'm pretty worried I'm going to fry it if not careful. Any help/advice greatly appreciated.
     
  9. jmpage2 macrumors 68030

    jmpage2

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #9
    While in game enter the console (usually the ~ key) and type this;

    r_displayinfo 1

    Then the framerate should be showing in the corner of the screen.
     
  10. d510r9 macrumors newbie

    d510r9

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    #10
    ok..

    2xAA, High settings, 1280x1024
    30fps under normal play
    35fps if you're looking out at detailed scenery
    25fps during crazy explosions, multiple North Koreans

    Add about 4-5 for removing 2xAA
    Add about 5-10 for dropping to medium detail.

    Rather unscientific tests but if you let it choose optimal settings which are the top figures it runs nicely. :)

    I've recorded some video if you would like me to post a youtube clip.
     
  11. jmpage2 macrumors 68030

    jmpage2

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #11
    That would be great. The results are about inline with what I had expected. Performance is quite a bit better than the GT130 it would seem, at least with this title.
     
  12. ronel129 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    #12
    I went ahead and installed Windows XP an gave up on Vista. Now that you mention 7 i might want to try that 1 though lol. For me XP runs left 4 dead at the highest settings and native resolution(1920x1200) with everything turn high except antialiasing at silky smooth frames.
     
  13. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #13
    If you're gaming, I would stick with XP only because it has the best support between Vista and 7.
     
  14. WizardHunt macrumors 68000

    WizardHunt

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada USA
    #14
    I agree I would stay away from Vista. XP is the way to go.
     
  15. GamaFu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    #15
    I don't get what Mac users have against Vista. Over the last three years I have my Dell XPS M1330 laptop, my laptop only crashed and forced me to reboot less than ten times. Mainly the reason I got crashes are explainable, it's Nvidia's GPU failure fiasco which there's nothing to do with Microsoft. Or the Nvidia's driver that won't wake up my computer properly. Vista is actually very stable, a great improvement over XP, I am excited about the Windows 7 RC which should come out next month. Anyways, unless Apple doesn't play nice with Microsoft, and doesn't test their drivers carefully, or not even support it, Vista should be a lot better than XP.

    The main reason why I got the iMac with ATI chip is that I lost confidence in Nvidia's hardware/software quality. I am quite disappointed in Apple, no matter what people say, I will blame this to Apple, the QA didn't catch this while testing, or the poor decision making that assume it's not going to be that big a problem so they started shipping. Also, Apple is always slow at responding issues like this. Last summer, I am glad Dell extended the warranty on computers with affecting Nvidia chips soon enough while Mac users still demanded a response from Apple.

    As a computer science student, I couldn't say software related issues that will cause crashing/freezing among any platform are totally unexpected. Debugging is a very difficult and complicated even in a small program with thousands lines of code. However, please! Next time when you respond to any Microsoft-related news like the recent ad campaign against Apple or any problems found in Windows, stop pretending Apple makes computer that won't crash.

    OK, forgive me if you don't like what I wrote. I just need to let it out of my chest. :( Don't get me wrong, I like the iMac I purchased, not regretting it. Also, since I'd like to start developing for iPhone apps, it's not I have any choice not using OS X for it. Xcode and iPhone SDK are only available on Mac.
     
  16. definitive macrumors 68000

    definitive

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    #16
    nothing at all. as a matter of fact, it's the windows pc buyers that caused microsoft to rush to make windows 7. vista wasn't being purchased as xp was, and workplaces weren't that quick to switch (some didn't even bother switching).

    vista is a poorly written os. they should have done more to get it to perform better at the start of the release, but they didn't. when windows 7 comes out, you'll see that it will be a better performer compared to vista.
     
  17. jmpage2 macrumors 68030

    jmpage2

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #17
    The issue is no longer with Vistas performance, as with SP1 (and soon to come SP2) it's quite good.

    The problem is with all the crap and baggage that Vista has brought along such as UAC (a.k.a, the "bitching Betty" that won't let you do anything with your computer without a mouse click), terrible security (running virus scanners and spyware sweepers is mandatory), and all of the issues that many have had with Windows for a while now (bloating registry over time, bad memory management, crappy clean up of applications upon uninstall, etc).

    It's 2009 and users really shouldn't have to put up with so much crap just to get a good experience out of using their computer.
     
  18. GamaFu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    #18
    lol The first thing I did when I got my computer is to disable the UAC. It's just annoying for those who know what they're doing, and useless for those who don't since they will click Yes anyway. I will add that the pre-installed bloatware which PC manufactures put in doesn't help the experience either. They should stop sabotaging Microsoft's already bad reputation. :D
     
  19. ronel129 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    #19
    Gaming on Xp

    Just a quick update as i stated earlier i gave up on Vista and installed XP. So far both games i have tried bioshock and left 4 dead run awesome. However, I'm one of the unlucky few that is getting the lock up. Its happening in XP playing left 4 dead and just streaming flash on google chrome. Lets see how this gets resolved. By the way did any1 else try vista and got passed the BSOD i was getting?
     
  20. DELTAsnake macrumors 6502

    DELTAsnake

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Australia
    #20
    Don't use the Radeon Mobility drivers, use the standard Catalyst drivers. According to the log mine produced from the driver install the card reports it's self as a regular 4850. It's probably a variant made just for Apple for use in this one computer and they probably bundled the drivers in with the desktop Catalyst drivers because it is a desktop computer.
     

Share This Page