boot.efi developer's thread

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by mikeboss, Oct 2, 2015.

  1. dgwilson macrumors member

    dgwilson

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2015
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #801
    If we can get some details on the SMC upgrade ... I can do that to... and re-attempt the OS install. my registration attempts at netkas.org have been unsuccessful. :-(

    - David
     
  2. PeterHolbrook, Nov 9, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2015

    PeterHolbrook macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    #802
  3. Inspector42 macrumors newbie

    Inspector42

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Location:
    Germany
    #803
    I have only upgraded the ROM of my MacPro 1,1 to MP21.007F.B06 but since I never upgraded the CPUs, I left SMC at 1.7f10.
    Installer created with the script posted earlier, worked 2 times on an internal hard drive and once on an USB stick.
    My Mac has Dual Xeon 5150 @ 2.66 Mhz with 12 MB RAM.
     
  4. dgwilson, Nov 9, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2015

    dgwilson macrumors member

    dgwilson

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2015
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #804
    With the 3.1 EFI (Black)... do you know if these work?

    • Hold down Command-S for single-user mode.
    • Hold down Command-V for verbose mode.

    EDIT: Have confirmed that Command-V for verbose mode works.

    - David
     
  5. dgwilson macrumors member

    dgwilson

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2015
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #805
    Now have SMC version changed.

    Code:
      Model Name:    Mac Pro
      Model Identifier:    MacPro2,1
      Processor Name:    Dual-Core Intel Xeon
      Processor Speed:    2.66 GHz
      Boot ROM Version:    MP21.007F.B06
      SMC Version (system):    1.15f3
    
    - David
     
  6. PeterHolbrook macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    #806
    Has that actually helped solve the issue you're having with Essentials.pkg?
     
  7. rthpjm, Nov 10, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2016

    rthpjm macrumors 6502

    rthpjm

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Location:
    U.K.
    #807
    PIKIFY has moved
    I've moved this post to the original Mac Pro (1,1/2,1) and El Capitan thread.

    If you are looking for my pikify3.1 installer creator, you will find them updated at the '2006/2007 Mac Pro (1,1/2,1) and OS X El Capitan' thread at page 56 post 1390...

     
  8. dgwilson, Nov 10, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2015

    dgwilson macrumors member

    dgwilson

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2015
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #808
    Install still terminates on the Essentials.pkg - or has a Kernel Panic.

    Incidentally had a Major Kernel Panic today on 10.11.1 with 3.1 efi. So bad that I was able to reboot into any instance of 10.11 that I had on the machine. I have a video of the verbose load.
    I was able to get back into 10.9.3 (it's the one I can always get back into).
    I did the SMC update at this point - already had the USB key built for it.

    Anyway - long story short - I erased all 10.11 drives that I had, Did a firewire install of 10.11.1 to the SSD, put on boot.efi 3.1 and I'm back up and running. The important point here is that I've got rid of any cruff that might have been around, strange as that might seem... and there was a chance that the install would work...

    Next step. New RAM. That's in transit. May be a while.

    EDIT: I started a clone with Carbon Copy Cloner of the SSD (it only has 10.11.1 on it, and Google Chrome). The Machine rebooted itself during the copy. As I was into the machine via remote access - I could see that 5.65GB of data had been copied, after 2 minutes, 53 seconds, to the point where it rebooted.


    - David
     
  9. PeterHolbrook macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    #809
    Something's definitely wrong with your computer. What you describe is far from normal, and it doesn't seem to have anything to do with boot.efi. Apart from possibly bad RAM, your target disk might be damaged. Have you tried using different blank media?
     
  10. PeterHolbrook, Nov 10, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2015

    PeterHolbrook macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    #810
    Just a few words about Pike's health. I've just learnt that he underwent brain surgery (last night?) to try and control a ruptured aneurysm. What the prognosis might be, I don't know. I strongly encourage believing members of the forum to pray for his recovery and well-being, and to include his family in your thoughts.
     
  11. Rustynova macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    #811
    Praying!!!
     
  12. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #812
    Well damn not much for religion but here's to hoping he pulls through they have much better grasp on that sort of thing now a days than when my grandfather died of that some forty odd years ago now. A buddy's brother I went to school with had one while playing hockey ten-fifteen years ago he was just fine after they operated on him.
     
  13. javirnat macrumors newbie

    javirnat

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2015
    Location:
    Valldemossa (Baleares Spain)
    #813
    Quiero que sepáis tú y tu familia que rezaré por vosotros y que siento mucho lo que te esta pasando (pikeralpha)
     
  14. dgwilson macrumors member

    dgwilson

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2015
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #814
    I have tried different target disks, and different install media. And I've got 2 x MacPro's here - so have tried different hardware in that regard too. The one common element that I cannot change at this point is the Graphics card (only have one) - ATI Radeon HD 4870.

    - David
     
  15. dgwilson macrumors member

    dgwilson

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2015
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #815
    Oh wow. Wishing Pike all the best and a very speedy recovery.

    - David
     
  16. iMattux macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    #816
    Your instructions are very clear and concise. The only problem is that you haven't included them as a README text file in the package. ;) Cheers and thanks. I'll run it and give a report when I get my new ram and hard drive.
     
  17. wwanthony macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
  18. Inspector42 macrumors newbie

    Inspector42

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Location:
    Germany
    #818
    Hi rthpjm,

    Wow, this is brilliant! I will try it as soon as I am back from a business trip. Thanks for mentioning my humble contribution.
    When I thought about making a package, I didn't even think of modifying the existing packages like you managed to do.

    Is the addition of the board-ID still required with Pike's boot loader 3.1 ? I though it was masquerading the true board-ID to show up as MacPro 3,1.
     
  19. iMattux macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    #819
    If anyone can glean any troubleshooting info from the installer log, please enlighten me.

    This is after running rthpjm's script to create an installer on an 8GB partition of a physically separate internal drive to a 500 GB partition on a brand new, physically separate drive.

    It failed while extracting Essentials.pkg. I'm attaching the install log with several thousand lines about missing unicode pruned. The beginning and the end might give us some clues when compared to a successful install.

    Cheers
     

    Attached Files:

  20. rthpjm macrumors 6502

    rthpjm

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Location:
    U.K.
    #820
    Hello iMattux

    I have only very quickly looked through your log file. The first thing I noticed is that it doesn't look like a transcript from one of the installers created by my script. There's no mention of the pikify.pkg which usually gets logged early in the session, certainly within the section of the log before you encountered the crash.

    Can I ask you to clarify some things for me please? I can see the disk checks in the log:
    • You have a single disk and you have it partitioned into two volumes
      • ElCapitan
      • Yosemite
    Is that correct?

    Then it looks like you might have another disk with 1 volume also called ElCapitan - is that correct?

    Where is the installer volume? Is it on external media (e.g. USB memory stick)?

    I'm going to run through the process end-to-end on my machine and save the log file. I'll then compare your log file with mine, so we can find the differences...
     
  21. iMattux, Nov 12, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2015

    iMattux macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    #821
    I have 2x1TB installed internally. One physical drive has the 8GB installer on a partition (along with various backup partitions, as labeled). The other physical drive is the target for the El Capitan installation, along with a Yosemite partition and a Raid that will be used later on when everything is stable.
    Here are my disks:
    Code:
      ------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 12:22 AM
    imatt is on Yosemite in ~ which has       19 files using 160 K
    => list
    /dev/disk0
       #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER
       0:      GUID_partition_scheme                        *1.0 TB     disk0
       1:                        EFI EFI                     209.7 MB   disk0s1
       2:                  Apple_HFS buElCapitan             332.0 GB   disk0s2
       3:                  Apple_HFS Install OS X El Capitan 8.0 GB     disk0s3
       4:                  Apple_HFS installYosemite         8.0 GB     disk0s4
       5:                  Apple_HFS buYosemite              150.0 GB   disk0s5
       6:                  Apple_HFS buPhotos                125.0 GB   disk0s6
       7:                  Apple_HFS buMusic                 125.0 GB   disk0s7
       8:                 Apple_RAID                         250.0 GB   disk0s8
       9:                 Apple_Boot Boot OS X               134.2 MB   disk0s9
    /dev/disk1
       #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER
       0:      GUID_partition_scheme                        *1.0 TB     disk1
       1:                        EFI EFI                     209.7 MB   disk1s1
       2:                  Apple_HFS ElCapitan               597.7 GB   disk1s2
       3:                 Apple_Boot Recovery HD             650.0 MB   disk1s3
       4:                  Apple_HFS Yosemite                149.5 GB   disk1s4
       5:                 Apple_Boot Recovery HD             650.0 MB   disk1s5
       6:                 Apple_RAID                         250.0 GB   disk1s6
       7:                 Apple_Boot Boot OS X               134.2 MB   disk1s7
    /dev/disk2
       #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER
       0:                  Apple_HFS speedyRaid             *500.0 GB   disk2
      ------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 12:26 PM
    imatt is on Yosemite in ~ which has       19 files using 160 K
    
    I began the process by zeroing the first 2GB (dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/rdisk0 bs=16M count=128) of disk0, an internal 1TB Hitachi, then reformatting with the partitions you see. The labels clearly designate each partition's intended purpose. All partitions on disk0 were empty.

    I was booted from "Yosemite" (disk1s4)

    I ran your script with disk0s3 as the target on which the pikified installer was created. The script ran without error, I saw all the echos of each successful step. Very friendly; nice work. ;)

    I manually confirmed that everything was in it's proper place just to be 3x sure.

    I rebooted and chose the "Install Mac OS X El Capitan" drive (disk0s3). Installation failed while extracting Essentials.pkg

    (I did create a striped Raid using disk0s8 and disk1s6, but that is not a part of this installation. I'm planning to use the Raid to run whichever OS is the most reliable at the end of this operation, but that's after. I've used a Raid as my boot drive for years without issue. At any rate, the Raid is not part of this equation. It's just another partition.)

    I'm eager to see and compare the logs from a successful installation.

    Cheers,

    matt
     
  22. rthpjm macrumors 6502

    rthpjm

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Location:
    U.K.
    #822
    Hey Matt

    Attached are your log and my log files. I've edited out the entries tagged as unknown (they tend to be font entries). It makes the log files a bit easier to read. The logs are pretty similar except if you look at mine at around line 222 you will see differences (you will see the reference to pikify.pkg). Your log contains no similar reference.

    Let us double/triple check things....

    Can you (using Finder) open /Volumes/Install OS X El Capitan
    You should just see the app Install OS X El Capitan
    Right-click the app and choose Show Package Contents
    double-click the Contents and SharedSupport folders
    You should see the InstallESD.dmg disk image here, double-click it to open/mount it (you can click the Skip button to speed things up a bit)
    You should now have the disk image mounted as OS X Install ESD (usually shows on the desktop unless you've turned that off in the Finder preferences)
    Double-click to open the mounted image
    You should now see a Packages folder AND the BaseSystem.dmg (because I don't hide the BaseSystem image after I modify it)
    go into the Packages folder and confirm that the pikify.pkg file and the OSInstall.collection file are present.

    Screen Shot 2015-11-12 at 22.57.21.png

    Let me know what you find...
     

    Attached Files:

  23. rthpjm macrumors 6502

    rthpjm

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Location:
    U.K.
    #823
    Strictly speaking the board-id mods are not required with the 3.x boot.efi files (because the 3.x boot.efi file reports the MacPro as a MacPro3,1 as you state, which is still on the supported list, but it's only just hanging in there as the last supported model so it will soon fall off the end of the list). I keep them in my scripts in case someone has a need/desire to use v2.x files (and out of habit because we needed to do this for Yosemite)
     
  24. rthpjm macrumors 6502

    rthpjm

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Location:
    U.K.
    #824
    So we have two people experiencing similar issues. Are there any similarities with your MacPro setups?

    I'm running a MacPro1,1, modded to a MacPro2,1 with 2x XEON E5345 Quad Core CPUs, 32G of RAM, and an
    ATI Radeon HD 5770 with modded BIOS+EFI firmware (now with boot screens). My boot drive is a 4Tb Seagate hybrid drive, and I have 3 further 2Tb HDDs (not much room left in my chassis!). It's one of the reasons why I'm so grateful to the guys here and over at the Netkas forums for helping me keep this thing running with the most up to date OS. It's still a great machine.

    Graphics cards are a known source of trouble. What are you guys running in your rigs?
     
  25. the bug macrumors member

    the bug

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    #825
    Whoa ! I haven't been around for a while, and just saw this while getting caught up reading posts !
    That is absolutely horrible !

    I'm not much of the praying type, but I will be praying for Pike and his family !
    I read the posts on Pike's page too, and I can't even imagine what the family is going through.

    All my thoughts and prayers are with you Pike R. Alpha, please get through this one !

    - Jay
     

Share This Page