boot from firewire

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by rwen, Feb 6, 2008.

  1. rwen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Modena IT
    #1
    Hi all
    i have insalled Backtrack 3 on a firewire disk. on my Intel MBP . how i can boot from firewire HD ?

    tank in advance
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Reboot holding down the option key. You should get a graphical boot choice screen on reboot (at the grey screen). If the Firewire drive contains a bootable partition it will show.
     
  3. rwen thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Modena IT
    #3
    i make a boot partition with bt3 (inst.bat from windows ) but when i boot with option button pressed i don't see firewire disk
     
  4. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #4
    Are you sure it's bootable on a Mac? Making it bootable from Windows may not work/be the correct thing...
     
  5. rwen thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Modena IT
    #5
    how can i see if is a bootable disk from mac ?

    i have dot this

    i have make a dos partition with GUID , i have make a boot disk from windows ( because i can't make a boot disk from mac os )

    tank's
     
  6. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #6
    If the partition appears in the System Preferences/Startup Volume then it's bootable. If it doesn't then it isn't.

    I'd suggest going back to the software vendor for advice and support.
     

Share This Page