Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

snell.mark

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 9, 2007
mud island
Hello, I'm a complete newbie to things Mac. I have spent some time playing with Intel things. A friend has asked me to show him the way with an ex-corporate G3 that has been retired. On power up (with only keyb and mouse attached) we get wonderful sound, followed by a command line interface that says "type shut-down or mac-start (if I remember correctly) to continue". Shut-down does the obvious, and subsequent re-starts take us back to the same place. The other option takes us to a screen that alternates between a picture of a face and a folder for a long time (after 15min I turned it off).
HELP!
Mark
p.s. I love my iPod
:confused:

Eidorian

macrumors Penryn
Mar 23, 2005
Indianapolis
It sounds like you're only getting single user mode (command line) and are unable to mount OS X otherwise beyond that point.

You're going to need to reinstall OS X on the machine. It's working otherwise.

snell.mark

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 9, 2007
mud island
That was quick! Is it possible to get a pointer to OS media. The system was "gifted" without any bits and pieces.
M
p.s. I still love my iPod

Eidorian

macrumors Penryn
Mar 23, 2005
Indianapolis
That was quick! Is it possible to get a pointer to OS media. The system was "gifted" without any bits and pieces.
M
p.s. I still love my iPod
eBay is a good start for older Mac OS X discs. If you can find out how much RAM the computer has you might even be able to use OS X 10.4 Tiger.

I suggest starting off with 10.3 Panther. Sadly, you can't make any requests on the MacRumors Marketplace until your post count is higher though.

Make sure you get the CDs as well. You can use an external FireWire DVD drive but it does add to the expense.

Eidorian

macrumors Penryn
Mar 23, 2005
Indianapolis