Boot Loop of Death

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by CooKieMoNs7eR, Oct 27, 2015.

  1. CooKieMoNs7eR macrumors 68000

    CooKieMoNs7eR

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    #1
    Ok I got a 6S+ jailbroken on 9.0.2, I have a bunch of tweaks installed including icleaner, ok so I opened the app and did a normal clean and resprung and now my phone is in a boot loop, keeps showing the apple logo then it boots again, I tried to home + power and it didn't work, I also tried to press the volume up after reboot and it didn't work...any help around this? I really don't want to restore but I will if I have to, thanks.
     
  2. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #2
    Turn the phone off. If the phone is in a constant boot loop, hold Power and Home until it shuts off, then let go.

    Hold down the volume up key. THEN press the power button until the phone boots. Keep holding down the volume key until you get to safe mode.

    My guess is that you aren't getting to the volume up key in time for it to register that you want to go to safe mode. That's why I recommend holding volume up before powering on the phone.

    If you can get to Safe Mode, uninstall iCleaner Pro. Despite it being compatible with iOS 9 I think it's got issues.
     
  3. iphonedude2008 macrumors 65816

    iphonedude2008

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #3
    I would check out the guide I posted. It explains all the issues you could have like this one.
     
  4. CooKieMoNs7eR thread starter macrumors 68000

    CooKieMoNs7eR

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    #4
    So basically I have to restore and I would lose my jailbreak :(
     
  5. iphonedude2008 macrumors 65816

    iphonedude2008

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #5
    No, just use the volume up method. It boots you into safe mode. Check out my guide as it goes into more depth on this. Its in this subforum
     
  6. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #6
    I think his problem is that he's not getting to the volume up button in time. This is why I am suggesting he hold it down before booting the phone.
     
  7. iphonedude2008 macrumors 65816

    iphonedude2008

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #7
    Yeah I agree. Try holding home+power until the apple logo disappears the second time though
     
  8. CooKieMoNs7eR thread starter macrumors 68000

    CooKieMoNs7eR

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    #8
    Lol believe me I'm doing it very fast, its just not booting into safe mode or anything...
     
  9. iphonedude2008 macrumors 65816

    iphonedude2008

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #9
    Are you sure as soon as the apple logo appears you press and hold volume up? If so, you may have to DFU restore.
     
  10. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #10
    Just turn it off first. Then hold the volume up button (and keep holding it), then power on the phone.

    If it doesn't work after that, then yes, it's a restore.
     
  11. CooKieMoNs7eR thread starter macrumors 68000

    CooKieMoNs7eR

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    #11
    Did exactly what you told me, still not working, I guess I'll just restore....but for anyone out there with cleaner I would uninstall it till its updated or something.
     
  12. iphonedude2008 macrumors 65816

    iphonedude2008

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #12
    It works fine for me, but I've heard others had issues. I'm not sure why you would need it in the first place though.
     
  13. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #13
    That sucks! Really sorry! Yeah, I uninstalled it last night. I don't need to clean cache files that bad. :D
     
  14. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #14
    When it works, it's a great tool. Cleans caches, lets you delete prefs, removes downloaded updates, unneeded languages and graphics, etc. It also lets you enable/disable launch daemons and it's best use is that it can disable tweaks - which means you can troubleshoot what tweak is causing a problem without having to uninstall it.

    Very useful. And now, dangerous.
     
  15. iphonedude2008 macrumors 65816

    iphonedude2008

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #15
    Did not know about disabling daemons and tweaks. I'll give it a try. Thanks
     
  16. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #16
    Sure. It's in the "+" menu on the bottom bar to the left.
     
  17. CooKieMoNs7eR thread starter macrumors 68000

    CooKieMoNs7eR

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    #17
    Is there a way to ssh and fix this? I really don't want to restore loll
     
  18. iphonedude2008 macrumors 65816

    iphonedude2008

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #18
    Don't think so. Unless you can boot up you can't ssh. Try safe mode again if you want, but you have to restore
     
  19. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #19
    Well, if it's tweak related, and you are able to SSH successfully without disconnecting from the boot loop, you can try to uninstall cydia substrate through a SSH terminal

    And hopefully, you're successful and so it boots up the phone normally
     
  20. Knowlege Bomb macrumors 601

    Knowlege Bomb

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #20
    "Updated" from 9.2 beta to 9.0.2 and jailbroke with the new Pangu for Mac. Everything went without a hitch until I went into Lydia and installed all of my tweaks. Respring and BOOM! BLoD. Safe mode was no help for me either even doing it how eyoungren suggested.

    Restoring now. :confused:
     
  21. iphonedude2008 macrumors 65816

    iphonedude2008

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #21
    I would do your tweaks one at a time until you find one that causes safe mode. Other people have had that issue when queuing up multiple downloads.
     
  22. Knowlege Bomb macrumors 601

    Knowlege Bomb

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #22
    There was a warning during my jailbreak saying my phone had already been jailbroken and I should restore before doing it again. I ignored it so I'll just blame it on that. I've been slowly adding stuff and no problems so far.
     
  23. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #23
    Apple stopped signing 9.0.2 a little while ago. So, good thing you got it done today.

    Caution is now advised for all from here on out.
     
  24. Knowlege Bomb macrumors 601

    Knowlege Bomb

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #24
    How long ago? I restored to 9.0.2 twice today. I thought that was the case too but ipsw.me was showing it was still being signed so I dropped down from 9.2 beta without a hitch.
     
  25. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #25
    Maybe ten to twenty minutes before my reply to your post.
     

Share This Page