Boot MacBook Pro 2010 15" from USB for Bootcamp - possible?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by smellalot, Mar 8, 2013.

  1. smellalot macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    #1
    I googled around and tried a bunch of things to install Windows on my MacBook. It simply won't let me boot off a USB flash drive.

    Has anyone found a solution to this?


    I tried:
    - rEFIt
    - starting installation with VMWare Fusion and finish of Bootcamp partition
    - boot directly from USB

    All I need to do is boot from USB. I know the USB flash drive is fine since I installed Windows on a regular laptop with it. I really need some help here!
     
  2. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    Nope, it cannot be done.

    In fact, the only way for you to install Windows is to install with a DVD via the internal optical drive.

    Only with Macs that do not have a built-in optical drive can you install Windows from a USB drive.
     
  3. smellalot thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    #3

    Why would Apple do this? So I have to buy an external DVD drive only for installing Windows. This is just stupid.
     
  4. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    No, you can't even use an external optical drive.

    You can only use the internal optical drive, so by chance if you replaced your optical drive with a HDD (i.e.: optibay), you need to put the original optical drive in to install Windows.
     
  5. Crzyrio macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #5
    DONT LISTEN TO THESE GUYS ^

    Yes you can :) I did it on my C2D White Macbook

    Give me a bit and I will try and find the link for you.

    You are able to use Bootcamp Assistant to put Windows on a usb and install it from a usb. This is what is done on the Macbook Air and rMBP

    You just have to change a few plist i believe
     
  6. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #6
    No you can't, not on 2010 and later Unibody models. All changing the plist file does is "un-gray" a check box within Boot Camp Assistant. Older MacBooks and MacBook Pros could be fooled into booting from USB.
     
  7. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    The MacBook Air and rMBP do not have built-in optical drive which is why you can install with a USB drive.

    If you are able to do it and have a solution for it, please do post it as I have never been able to find a solution to this.
     
  8. smellalot thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    #8
    Well it just keeps getting better ...


    You don't need to look for that link. Did that. Was abled to create the aforementioned USB flash drive. Still can't boot from it though! How would you achieve that?
     
  9. Crzyrio macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #9
    http://www.codez4mac.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=212&t=61921

    Try This ^. It worked for me :) But I had a Late2009/early2010 White Unibody.

    Why did it not work? I didnt have to do anything, it booted just fine

    My Mistake Then, Maybe Apple Fixed it on the later models :p
     
  10. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #10
    Because his machine was old enough that the restriction of only using the optical drive was not in place. That's simply not the case on newer models. It's a pain, but I've done the swap so many times that it now takes me less than 10 minutes to put the SuperDrive in to install Windows and the same amount of time to put my OWC Data Doubler back once Windows is in place.
     
  11. Crzyrio macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #11
    Have ya tried the VMware method? or creating a bootable windows usb without the bootcmap assistant?
     
  12. smellalot thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    #12

    Thanks for the effort anyway.

    I was hoping for a miracle here. I'm seriously p****d at Apple for this right now. There is no good reason to disable this feature.

    Still I'm glad I asked since I was about to buy an external DVD drive...
     
  13. smellalot thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    #14
    I did and was abled to choose "boot Windows" in rEFIt but then I got the "No Operating System" message. However, you're supposed to turn off VMWare at the first reboot but I missed that point by one second and it "rebooted" within the VM. So maybe that's the reason. So I'll give that one more try tonight.

    ----------

    That's new for me. I'll read that and come back afterwards.
     
  14. smellalot thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    #15
    OK, I tried again the usual VMWare method. I can't get it to start the install again. All it gives me is "Missing operating system". I can't see that I'm doing anything differently. I'm tired of trying now. I even deleted VMWare Fusion and installed again.

    I think I'll just get a real PRO laptop to run a PRO OS. :apple:
     

Share This Page