boot problems after video card upgrade

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by MacSince1985, Jan 23, 2015.

  1. MacSince1985 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    #1
    I just replaced a dead Radeon 5770 with a FGX 680. Now my Mac won't boot from its SSD drive.

    The Mac will boot from the HD in bay 1.
    It sees the SSD and Disk Utility says it's OK (repaired permissions + verified disk).
    If I start from the SSD, it stays stuck on gray screen Apple logo.

    The SSD is a striped raid (Crucial MX500) in a Apricorn Velocity Duo PCI card.

    SMC reset, PRAM reset. Any suggestions on next step?
     
  2. hfg, Jan 23, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2015

    hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #2
    Reseat the DUO PCIe card to be sure it is fully connected. You were swapping a nearby video card, it may have become dislodged.

    Put the RAID-0 SSDs in regular disk sled slots and verify booting, then move back to Velocity DUO card.

    I am using a DUO card with a Macvidcards GTX 680 with no issues. Don't know about FGX 680?
     
  3. MacSince1985 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    #3
    I don't have sleds that will fit these drives, so I can't do that test.

    The drive is fully visible (files accessible). Disk Utility and Drive Genius gave it a clean bill of health (running Techtool pro now).
     
  4. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #4
    SSDs are so light weight that you might carefully just insert them into the SATA connector for testing purposes. You might lay it on its side so the SSD is vertical if you prefer.

    It is odd that the utilities see it ok, but it doesn't boot. Anything else in the PCIe slots? Did you try the DUO card in a different slot?

    If you do the option-key on reboot, do you see the SSD RAID in the boot manager screen?
     
  5. MacSince1985 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    #5
    when I option-boot, it shows the SSD RAID as 2 disks. Is that normal?
     
  6. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #6
    Yes that is normal ... and either one will boot the RAID-0 array.

    You might also let the PRAM reset cycle 2 or 3 times before releasing the option key to continue the boot.
     
  7. MacSince1985 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    #7
    It's working again

    I removed a e-sata card that I wasn't using anyway. That didn't change anything. Then I tried a system reinstall (and upgraded to Yosemite in the process) and it's now working fine.

    So I guess it was a software problem. Something got corrupted either when the video card died or in one of the reboots.
     

Share This Page