Boot Sierra off raid 0?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by joebclash, Mar 11, 2017.

  1. joebclash macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    #1
    I have 2 old 64GB ssd. It's too small to install the osx on one of the drive. It's it possible to raid 0 both the ssd and then install Sierra on that raid 0?
     
  2. thornslack macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    #2
    Yes. You sacrifice the recovery partition I think but who cares.
     
  3. Draeconis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #3
    Filevault :)
     
  4. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #4
    I'm missing the connection between your post "Filevault" and the OP's question about raid0.
    Could you elaborate please?
     
  5. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #5
    Without a recovery partition, as on a RAID boot volume, Filevault can't be used.
     
  6. AidenShaw, Mar 12, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2017

    AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #6
    Are you sure that it's worth it? If they're old and 64 GB, they're probably quite slow and most likely won't support TRIM with RAID.

    Name brand 128 GB SSDs are in the $65 range... $80 will get 240 GB.

    Newegg
     
  7. joebclash thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    #7
    Yeah my drives are slow for ssd but still faster then platter based drives. I was hoping the raid 0 would improve the speed.
     
  8. Squuiid macrumors 6502a

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #8
    Sorry to resurrect this old post but I'm thinking of doing the same with two old SATA drives in a cMP.
    My question is will TRIM (trimforce command) work when using RAID 0?
     

Share This Page