Boot time doubled with Lion, anyone else noticed that

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by TheJing, Jul 21, 2011.

  1. TheJing, Jul 21, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2011

    TheJing macrumors 6502a

    TheJing

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere in Europe
    #1
    My boot time seems to have almost doubled since I installed Lion. Is anyone else experiencing that?


    I also just noticed that when opening the lid to "wake the computer up" it takes a few seconds before the screen turns on. On Leopard it turned on instantly when I opened the lid.

    These are not big issues, of course, but kind of annoying when you are used to have a computer that does those things really fast.

    No apps open or anything.

    Macbook Pro 13" 11 2.3Ghz i5.

    Before Lion: 31 sec Lion: 59 sec
     
  2. MasterHowl macrumors 65816

    MasterHowl

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    North of England
    #2
    I haven't timed it, but it's definitely not as fast as is was on Snow Leopard!

    Not complaining though, I chose to install Lion when it was version 10.7.0, so I knew there would be performance issues and bugs! If it's still like this by version 10.7.4, I'll be mad...
     
  3. steezy1337 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Location:
    Carlisle, UK
    #3
    if anything my boot times seem faster, although i don't restart very often so i don't really have anything to compare it to
     
  4. nick123222 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset, United Kingdom
    #4
    Haven't tested mine, but for an easy way to time it, count how many times the little spinning wheel rotates as it rotates once a second. Then just add 5-10 seconds for the time before the wheel appearing. I use this almost every time I boot as a quick check to see if it is slower than normal. :)
     
  5. TheJing thread starter macrumors 6502a

    TheJing

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere in Europe
    #5
    I just use my iPhone's stopwatch that way it's accurate. I didn't even know that wheel was rotating once a second.
     
  6. nick123222 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset, United Kingdom
    #6
    That's how it was in Snow Leopard. I am assuming it still rotates the same speed in Lion. I'll check in a minute and report back.
     
  7. Frosticus macrumors 6502a

    Frosticus

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #7
    Nope. Seems the same, if not a little quicker for me.
     
  8. BCurry1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    Oklahoma
  9. ww1971 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    #9
    It depends on how much RAM the system has plus there could be other factors. Maybe some people upgraded from Snow Leopard 32 bit to Lion. Given that Lion is 64 bit only a performance hit is expected because 64 bit software is more demanding than 32 bit software on computers with 2 gb RAM.
     
  10. SXR macrumors 6502a

    SXR

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #10
    I haven't really noticed it at all. I think boot time is around the same what it was with Snow Leopard. Could it be the machine of the OP has relatively low specs? Although Lion should run fine with 2 GB RAM
     
  11. maril1111 macrumors 68000

    maril1111

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Location:
    Denmark
    #11
    Did you guys simply upgrade or did you start from scratch e.g. clean install?
     
  12. TheJing thread starter macrumors 6502a

    TheJing

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere in Europe
    #12
    Upgraded from MAP. Macbook Pro 13" 11 2.3 i5.
     
  13. MasterHowl macrumors 65816

    MasterHowl

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    North of England
    #13
    I just upgraded, might look at a clean instal...
     
  14. lazydesi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Gr8 Adelaide
  15. iBunny macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #15
    Its instant, just like it was in SL.

    Vertex 3 ftw
     
  16. eternalife macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    #16
    a bit longer for me and when it finally comes up the wifi doesn't work. I have to recycle the wifi before it will work.
     
  17. nick123222 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset, United Kingdom
    #17
    Go into the WiFi preferences and go to advanced and make sure you have got it set to remember WiFi networks. It forgot all of mine and this was disabled when I upgraded from Snow Leopard.
     
  18. ri0ku macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    #18
    Mines almost 3 times longer on my 09 mbp....

    Spinning wheel used to go to around 9 spins then i would be at my desktop in snow leopard.

    In lion the wheel spins 32 times before getting to the desktop...
     
  19. pedrofan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    #19
    1min 20 seconds with lion.... 16 SECONDS WITH SNOW LEOPARD.. It has increased for over a minute!!

    (I'm using a 480gb OCZ vertex 3)
     
  20. henry72 macrumors 65816

    henry72

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #20
    From my experience , this is normal. It happens after I updated the software or installed some new software.

    What you need to do is sit and wait. Try to restart your Mac after an hour later and see if it is faster. Repair permission will help as well :D

    PS: I notice that when I upgraded my Mac from 10.5.8 to 10.6. It was so slow but after a while, is actually faster than 10.5.8 ;)

    Just wait and don't worry about it
     
  21. dethmaShine macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Into the lungs of Hell
    #21
    I restart my lion :)p) everyday now as I leave my computer in the office.

    The boot time has been halved I should say; you need to get that checked from the Apple Store.

    Can you please post:

    - the number of applications open when you shutdown

    ?
     
  22. rmwebs macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #22
    I'm on a MacPro with an SSD for boot. On SL I could boot in around 10 seconds from hitting the power button.

    Lion takes 32 seconds on the same machine.
     
  23. vincenz macrumors 601

    vincenz

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #23
    Seems the same to me, though i'm on an SSD. I've noticed it boots a lot slower if you choose to have lion leave your apps open when you reboot.
     
  24. SXR macrumors 6502a

    SXR

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #24
    In my case, it does boot pretty quick into the desktop - but then the apps take a couple seconds to load.
     
  25. lomby macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Location:
    Australia
    #25
    I have a 15" 2.2 Ghz Quad core i7 Macbook Pro and lion takes 38 secs to boot up and 6 secs to turn off. :eek: I know i chose to get it at 10.7.0 on release and it has bugs. to me it has been very stable and am very pleased but there is nothing to complain about, I'm just thankful i have it :D i upgraded over Snow leopard just in case people wanted to know :)
    :apple:

    Updates hopefully should fix this soon :apple:
     

Share This Page