Boot up Problem

Discussion in 'iMac' started by afcbob, Dec 8, 2010.

  1. afcbob macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    #1
    I have a iMac 20" 2.4ghz 2gig ram

    For a few weeks now been having problems with it running slow hanging and programs doing alsort of things like losing history in programs.

    But the other day it hang and had to turn it of by holding the button when tried to turn it on again it would only load till the grey screen and it had a flashing folder with a ?.

    tried for ages to get it to bootup but nothing so left it for a day turned it on and it booted up ok but still with the other problems.

    Now it hangs all the time and it wont always bootup.

    Anyhelp to sort this would be great as i use it for work.
     
  2. rkaufmann87 macrumors 68000

    rkaufmann87

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Location:
    Folsom, CA
    #3
    I agree, time to replace the HD! Hope you have a backup, if not try to get that thing to start and back up while you can.
     
  3. afcbob thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    #4
    Hi thanks for that am from the uk where is the best place to get a replace mant drive.

    I have many drive kicking about from my PC's days are they the same.
     
  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #5
    Any 3.5" SATA drive will work. All computer stores would have them
     
  5. afcbob thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    #6
    Thats good now whats the best way to clone the drive i have in it now

    Thanks for all the help
     
  6. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #7
    Buy a USB enclosure and put the old drive in it. However, it's possible that the hard drive is dead thus its data cannot be cloned without data recovery service.
     
  7. BigDukeSix macrumors 6502a

    BigDukeSix

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Location:
    34.6700N 118.1590W
    #8
    However, if the drive is still functional, you can use Carbon Copy Cloner to get the data off of it and into your new drive.
     
  8. biggd macrumors 6502

    biggd

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Location:
    Calgary
    #9
    Or buy a USB -> Sata connector
     
  9. afcbob thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    #10
    I got a new hardrive today and a usb sata dock but i can't get the mac to bootup on the old hardrive to get it cloned.

    But i have the old hardrive setup to dual boot and it will boot into the Windows XP just not Mac os

    So what am i best doing now
     
  10. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #11
    Have you tried reinstalling OS X then? If Windows works, then it sounds like it's just a corrupted system file
     
  11. afcbob thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
  12. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #13
    It should not as long as you perform archive and install (Snow Leopard does that automatically, I think)
     

Share This Page