bootable device not found - Weird

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by ChaePod, Apr 8, 2008.

  1. ChaePod macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    #1
    Hey guys, i tried to install bootcamp so i used the bootcamp assistant to partition my drive. Then it said something..and the computer restarted and it came up with a black screen with white writing.. saying something along the lines of

    "bootable disk not found. Enter disk and press any key" And it spat my windows XP cd out. I guessed my XP cd was old so booted into OS X by pressing the option key during boot up. and got rid of the windows partition.

    Now every time my laptop boots up.. it goes to that black screen with white writing.... I have to press the option button everytime the laptop boots up.. =_=

    This is quite annoying...

    Can anyone help me solve this problem?

    thanks in advance guys.
     
  2. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #2
    The white text is trying to install windows, you need at least XP SP2.

    You can either do 3 things.

    1. Install windows
    2. use boot camp assistant to revert it back to one partition
    3. reset your PRAM (Command, Option, P, and R on boot)
     
  3. ChaePod thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    #3
    I already reverted it to one partition but it still does this o_O??

    what happens if i reset the PRAM ?

    thanks
     
  4. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #4
    From here. It basically clears out some settings and set them to the default which in the case of startup volume is OS X.

     
  5. ChaePod thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    #5
    oh kool!

    so this WONT delete any of my apps?

    or revert my system preferences to default?

    sorry for the questions.. first mac.. im sure u know how i feel XD

    thanks
     
  6. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #6
    It might reset one or two things in system preferences however I have done it many times and never had anything change for me.

    It won't delete any applications.

    Questions is what this forum is for :)
     

Share This Page