Bootcam

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by lazerbye, Feb 2, 2012.

  1. lazerbye macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    #1
    I am trying to install bootcamp on my macbook and I keep getting this error and don't know how to resolve it! Any ideas as I have enclosed an image of the error.

    Thanks for the help!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #3
    The message tells you what to do, though not as detailed as many might like.

    Do you have an external HDD handy?


    ____________________________________________________________

    Maybe have a look at Advanced Search to find hundreds of similar threads with many answers (including the one given by Mister GGJstudios) :
    [​IMG]
    ____________________________________________________________

    To edit your thread title to a descriptive one, just click on the [​IMG] button on the bottom right of your original post and then click the [​IMG] button below your message.
     
  3. lazerbye thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    #4

    Yes I have an external drive handy that I can use!
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #5
    Then look at Mister GGJstudios' post again.
     
  5. lazerbye thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    #6
    bootcam

    I didn't see that link to his post in the message
     
  6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #7
    You didn't see this?
     
  7. lazerbye thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    #8
    bootcam

    Ok got that but is that really the way I have to do it as my external drive I have for some reason the way it is formatted it is not being recognized by the computer and I don't know why!

    I'll have to play around with it as I really need to get bootcamp installed!
     
  8. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #9
    It is not recognised by your computer, or you can't write to it?
    Does it show up in Disk Utility? I guess, it is not properly formatted*?

    *
     
  9. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #10
    Do you have data stored on the external drive? If not, just reformat it to Mac OS Extended (Journaled). Then you can clone your internal drive using CCC.
     
  10. lazerbye thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    #11
    Not sure what is on it as I can't get it to register as a selectable drive on my system.

    I'll just have to play with it and if not I can always buy a cheap external drive to do that for.

    Now if I do CCC and I reformat the drive do I need to partition first then do bootcamp then install data back on or back up with CCC reformat then add data back on then bootcamp?

    And if I do that I won't get the partition problem like I am having now?
     

Share This Page