Bootcamp 2.0 = CRAP

Discussion in 'macOS' started by wakerider017, Nov 21, 2007.

  1. wakerider017 macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #1
    Well as many users know, it really does not work...

    It now only lets you format in FAT32

    It shows a black screen that says you have had a disc error after trying to install XP.

    As users have posted, you can get around this "bug" by reformatting the partition to NTFS..


    Fine, I did that and all is swell... But now how do I get the drivers?

    (I am guessing that the drivers put on the original FAT32 partition)




    Kinda sucks because bootcamp beta worked great! I could also burn the drivers to the CD back then too...
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    I had no problems reformatting the partition using the Windows installer. :confused:

    The drivers are installed using the Leopard disc.
     
  3. wakerider017 thread starter macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #3
    Thanks for letting me know where the drivers are.

    But If I do not reformat to NTFS, part way through the install I get a black screen of death...

    Maybe it is an iMac thing..??
     
  4. SwitchingtoMAC macrumors member

    SwitchingtoMAC

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #4
    the first thing i did during the windows set up was reformat it to ntfs have had no issues installing
     
  5. Mal macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #5
    You do know that if you follow the instructions and reformat (regardless of whether you format FAT32 or NTFS) it will actually work?

    Yeah, RTFM.

    jW
     
  6. wakerider017 thread starter macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #6
    You are right, I read and I should have reformatted...

    My fault.
     
  7. psonice macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    #7
    Lol, you think that's bad? I didn't read the manual, and used an xp sp1 disk. It totally screwed my osx partition as well as not installing windows! Had to do a complete reinstall.
     
  8. moutian macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Location:
    Detroit
    #8
    I am content with vmware. I hate restarting the computer.
     
  9. wakerider017 thread starter macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #9
    Ya, but it is not like the real thing...
     
  10. cohibadad macrumors 6502a

    cohibadad

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #10
    Yeah. Instructions say you must reformat for a reason. I tried it by not reformatting once and it gives the disk error. The weird things that I noticed with NTFS is how it is called untitled or something on the mac. I had all sorts of weird problems with Parallels Boot Camp also. I ended up using FAT32 but I am too scared to try Parallels Boot Camp again.
     
  11. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #11
    I normally name my partition to Windows in Windows itself.
     
  12. Hmac macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    #12
    I have Windows XP runing via both Parallels and Boot Camp 2.0. Installation of BC 2 from Leopard was simple. And the Leopard install left my Parallels partition alone. I boot into Windows for gaming, use Parallels for the few non-game programs I need Windows for. Works well.
     
  13. wakerider017 thread starter macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #13
    You can change the name in wondows
     

Share This Page