Bootcamp AND Virtual Box?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by ArtOfWarfare, Sep 11, 2008.

  1. ArtOfWarfare macrumors 604

    ArtOfWarfare

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    #1
    I just discovered that there's a free virtualization program called Virtual Box... but I've been using Boot Camp for the past few months. Is there some way I can easily migrate from one to the other? (Or... better would be to be able to use both! That way if I just want to open a small game like Peggle for a few minutes I can open it in Virtual Box but when I'm thinking of something bigger like Portal or Half-Life 2 I can use Boot Camp and so devote all my CPU to the game?)

    Wait... maybe when I try installing VB it'll just be smart enough and recognize the partition for XP that Boot Camp automatically made for me a few months ago and be able to use it...
     
  2. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #2
    Yes, it should work from your Boot Camp partition, just like Parallels or VMWare Fusion

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  3. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #3
    Dawg please could you point to where it says that it can do this as i was under the impression it could only run windows as a virtual OS and not off a partition , I'm happy with Fusion but just out of curiosity
     
  4. Mr. Zarniwoop macrumors demi-god

    Mr. Zarniwoop

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    #4
    Well, not exactly...

    While there are non-trivial ways to have VirtualBox use a Windows partition (like a Boot Camp partition) as a guest OS, the VirtualBox Guest Additions do not handle Microsoft activation issues like VMware Fusion and Parallels do. So Windows will trigger a request for another activation, and can even identify itself as counterfeit Windows.
     
  5. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #5
    Thanks for that,as i was reading threw their info and unless i missed something i couldn't find where it was possible
     
  6. jeffuwee macrumors member

    jeffuwee

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    #6
    vmware and parallels and virtual box can handle games? i thought the virtual pc was too slow or something?
     
  7. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #7
    sorry but that made no sense


    vmware/parralels/virtual box are intel programs


    virtual pc is a powerpc app


    at any rate, none of them can run the latest games
     
  8. ArtOfWarfare thread starter macrumors 604

    ArtOfWarfare

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    #8
    Bummer... well, since I already have boot camp set up and I don't feel comfortable using terminal (I'll keep using Tinker Tools for UI modifications thank you very much,) I think I'll just stick with boot camp.
     

Share This Page