Bootcamp black screen problem on iMac 3.06Ghz

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by ramraid, Jun 8, 2008.

  1. ramraid macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    #1
    I just got myself a 24" 3.06Ghz iMac with Nvidia 8800GS and i am having problems getting either XP SP2 or Vista to install via boot camp.

    After creating the boot camp partition my mac reboots, i get a grey screen for about 10 seconds, then the screen goes black. In fact it looks like the screen turns off it's so black, and there is no flashing cursor, but i can hear the disk turning so it's still on.

    Anyone else had this problem. I have done some searching and it looks a bit like the problem that effected some 2006 model 24" imacs but that was fixed with an MXM update. I tried to install this update but the installer says it's not needed for my model and won't install.

    I am a bit worried because i got this model so i could play PC games via boot camp but so far not had much luck!
     
  2. SneakerFreak macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    #2
    I had this issue and it turned out to be my old copy of XP that had some marks on the disc - the dvd drive in the iMac must be more stringent than others.

    I burned another copy onto a new DVD and it worked fine (apart from the MXM structure error that still occurs every time I boot into XP).

    Had anyone managed to solve the MXM structure ....please wait 30 seconds... issue?
     
  3. ramraid thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    #3
    I don't think its a disk problem as i have tried 3 disks so far and i always get the same problem.

    It seems to me that it's like my iMac monitor can't display the resolution needed for the windows setup, so it just goes black. Maybe i could try attaching a second monitor. I will try later tonight

    Best Regards
     
  4. ramraid thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    #4
    i have just about tried everything i know to solve this, and adding an external monitor at install did not help.

    Does anyone have another other ideas?

    Could have a hardware problem?
     
  5. aki macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #5
    i have your same imac and i installed vista32 on it ok

    do you have some other windows cd/dvd you can try as a test???poor media is problem for some people.......

    the only thing i did was different from normal is....i made the partition in bootcamp....then reboot myself and booted from the vista32 disc...used vista32 installer to format new bootcamp partition as ntfs and then installed......it need to reboot maybe two times??i forget it but it all worked ok
     
  6. ramraid thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    #6
    I have tried many different disks, but always get the same problem. I am begining to think it's a hardware problem, so maybe i will take it into the store for a checkup
     
  7. ramraid thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    #7
    As a test i have installed XP on my macbook using the same disk i used on my imac, and it worked fine, so i guess the disk is not the problem
     
  8. judakubassek macrumors newbie

    judakubassek

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    #8
    The Solution

    Alright everyone, I believe I've found our only options. According to the Apple expert support fellow, there are only two ways to fix the MXM error:

    1. Download and run the MXM 1.0 Update found at this link: www.apple.com/support/downloads/imacmxmupdate10.html

    2. If that doesn't work (which is apparently quite likely), then the final and sure fix is to take your iMac to an Apple Authorized Service Provider (to find one in your area, call 1-800-263-3394) and have them replace the NVIDIA 8800 GS video card.

    End of problem. Thanks so much to all who joined in this quest, and God bless.
     
  9. ramraid thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    #9
    I took my imac to my local service center and they could not fix it, so they have ordered me a replacement machine. Should be here in a couple of weeks :)
     
  10. Hogni89 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Location:
    Faroe Islands
    #10
    new imac? Where do you live?

    here at the Faroe Islands, they charge for service over the phone!

    but anyways! Try updating the MXM .. go to apple site and search for imac+black screen+xp, then you will get the solution.

    I have also had a simular problem. After a installation of parallels. The only thing that helped me was resetting the PRAM

    Just hold down ctrl+cmd+R+P while the mac starts up, you'll hear the startup sound, then the machine shuts down, and you hear the startup sound again, then it's okey to releas the comands :)

    Good luck!
     

Share This Page