Bootcamp Did Not Create the Partition It Said It Did

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by MZ3Alex, Jun 23, 2009.

  1. MZ3Alex macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #1
    So I'm a fairly new mac user and I just got my new MacBook Pro yesterday (And loving it btw!) So last night I wanted to do the whole Bootcamp thing with Windows. So I went into the Bootcamp assistant, made the Windows partition 101GB, Bootcamp said it made the partition and I put my Windows XP CD in, and restarted my computer. I did basically everything that it said. So the comp restarts and everything is fine as the windows loader comes up and everything. But when I get to the partition section, little did I know there was a problem. From doing research I guess the partition I was supposed to format was the one that said <BOOTCAMP> but instead that partition did not exist and I only saw one other that was roughly the same size as the one I told Bootcamp to make, but was clearly not the full size of my HDD so I thought that was what I was suppose to partition and install windows on. Well, I figured out I shouldn't have done that so long story short I lost my OSX and ended up having to reinstall it.

    So my question, is why didn't Bootcamp make the partition that it said it did and if I try to run the assistant again, and it still doesn't make the <BOOTCAMP> partition, what do I do?

    Would any of this have to do with the fact that my XP CD is a really old one that came with my DELL laptop back in 2002? I wouldn't imagine that would prevent the Windows installer from seeing the Bootcamp partition if I did exist but idk.

    I really appreciate any help as I need windows xp via Bootcamp for college.
     
  2. KillingSpree macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #2
    I'm having a little trouble understanding your problem. Could you try to explain it clearer?

    Edit: Nvm Just select the last Partition on the thing is what I did.
     
  3. MZ3Alex thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #3
    Alright I apologize. Long story short, I ran the bootcamp assistant last night to make the Windows partition to install windows on. The Bootcamp assistant said it made the partition, but when the Windows installer came up, the Bootcamp partition did not exist, and I accidentally ended up formatting the "unknown" one, despite it was not the full size of my HDD. (So naturally I thought I was supposed to format it.)

    So basically it's the same question as above.
     
  4. KillingSpree macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #4
    Well it will not be the whole size of your HDD because by partitioning it your cutting off memory from your main Partition so you can put your windows on it. Also try and use less than half of your HDD to see if that helps you determine which one it is.
     
  5. MZ3Alex thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #5
    Yes but in formatting that partition, I lost my OS X and had to run the boot CD and the the Disc Utility to fix HDD so I could reinstall OS X. When the windows CD loader comes up and I view the available partitions, is there not suppose to be one there that says bootcamp? That option did not exist for me. I waned a 101GB Windows partition, the only avaible partition was around 131000MB. So not quite the same, but roughly.

    But basically what I'm asking, is shouldn't there be an available FAT32 partition that says "bootcamp" or at least has it in the name?
     
  6. KillingSpree macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #6
    I believe so but I cannot think of why there is not a bootcamp partition. Also mine never said bootcamp if I recall correctly.
     
  7. MZ3Alex thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #8
    Okay well thanks for the input guys. I'll have to give this a shot again later on. Maybe later tonight sometime.
     

Share This Page