Bootcamp for Intel only?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by wickedking94, Jul 11, 2010.

  1. wickedking94 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    #1
    Is bootcamp for intel macs only?
    Does that mean my iMac G3 cant run windows?
    Is there any way to run windows on it?

    iMac G3/500
    500 Mhz G3
    640MB Ram
    20GB HDD
    16MB VRAM
     
  2. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #2
    Bootcamp is Intel only. You can't run it on PPC Macs. An extremely slow way for you to run windows, however, is finding an old version of Microsoft Virtual PC.
     
  3. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #3
    Yes, Intel only

    You might find an old version of SoftPC on eBay
    It worked with PowerPC Macs but really sucked
     
  4. Frosties macrumors 6502a

    Frosties

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    Sweden
    #4
    For what purpose or program do you need windows?
     
  5. Shaun.P macrumors 68000

    Shaun.P

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    #5
    You can install Windows on this machine using Virtual PC (as someone previously mentioned). I ran Windows XP using Virtual PC on a similar machine back in the day but it was extremely slow. I wouldn't recommend it.
     
  6. wickedking94 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    #6
    Oh well, its not a big deal. I just wanted to see how well it worked.
    thanks for the quick responses.
     

Share This Page