Bootcamp for newbie

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by hndn, Jul 6, 2009.

  1. hndn macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    #1
    Hello,
    I have a 4GB white MB, I want to run bootcamp & have a concerns
    - I have XP with SP1. I know it requires SP2, what can I do?
    - I plan to upgrade to Snow Leopard, how does XP be affected?
    Thanks.
     
  2. eawmp1 macrumors 601

    eawmp1

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    FL
    #2
    -Upgrade to SP2
    -The update to Snow Leopard should not affect XP
     
  3. -tWv- macrumors 68000

    -tWv-

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Location:
    Ohio
    #3
    You can use a process called slipstreaming to make a new install disc that has sp2 from your sp1 disc. I have heard of people doing it successfully but I have not actually done it myself so search around on google for "slipstreaming windows xp install disc" and see what you find. I don't think it's that hard but the bootcamp drivers will not install if you do not have sp2. And for snow leopard, your xp partition will be unchanged, you are only upgrading leopard to SL and not modifying your windows system.
     
  4. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #5
  5. Mac & Beanz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    #6
    fixed!
     
  6. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #7
    Seems to be still broken for me... could be just me

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  7. -tWv- macrumors 68000

    -tWv-

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Location:
    Ohio
    #8
    the link works fine for me, it must just be you
     
  8. Mac & Beanz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    #9
    for those of you having link troubles :) you can just type in the "www.winsupersite.com" and search his site using the search work "slipstream."

    Again, Good Luck!
     
  9. hvfsl macrumors 68000

    hvfsl

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Location:
    London, UK
    #10
    If you want a program that will slipstream it for you, download nlite. Although you will need access to a PC to do it.
     
  10. hndn thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    #11
    Thanks for the responses, I borrowed the CD with SP2, installed, looks good.
    Here's the problem: I inserted the Mac OXS dvd on Windows, it said "the required resources UPDATE is missing." What do I do?
     
  11. Mac & Beanz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    #12
    I don't know anything about this one :(
     

Share This Page