Bootcamp for Windows

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by eowl, Dec 26, 2011.

  1. eowl macrumors member

    eowl

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    #1
    Hi all,

    I'm wanting to use windows on my mac using bootcamp but i'm confused as to which version of windows I need to buy. With my academic discount I can get a Windows 7 Professional Upgrade, is this what I need? I'm confused by the upgrade part! Also will I need a 32 bit or a 64 bit?

    Thanks!
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    You need a FULL version, as an Upgrade is just an upgrade and needs an older version of Windows to be installed.
    As for 32-bit or 64-bit: Doesn't matter, both will run and if your Mac has more than 4 GB RAM, take the 64-bit version.
     
  3. eowl thread starter macrumors member

    eowl

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    #3
    Oh that's a shame, don't really want to spend loads on a version of windows, was hoping that one would do it :(

    Thanks for your response
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    If that Upgrade works with Windows XP, you might find a Retail version of it for 30 USD or so.
    Can't you get a full version of Windows 7 with your academic connections?
     
  5. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #5
    You can't use an upgrade if you don't already have Windows installed, because there's nothing to upgrade.
     
  6. wanders macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    #6
    You absolutely can do a clean install of Windows for bootcamp with upgrade media -- I have done it many, many times with a Home Premium upgrade disc I got through a student promotion. The subsequent activation does require a bit of trickeration, however.
     
  7. eowl thread starter macrumors member

    eowl

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    #7
    No they only offer an upgrade which is a shame, I do know someone who works for Microsoft though so i'll see if he can buy a copy for me and send it through!
     
  8. Maverick513 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    #8
    Get the 64bit Windows 7, for both the RAM capacity and the CPU.
     
  9. steved324 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    #9
    Using bootcamp

    I was wondering, when you install Windows and you need to put the bootcamp drivers in do you install it on the Windows or the Mac side? I assume Windows

    Also is there a way to install all the drivers at once or do you do it one at a time?

    Main reason i as this is because my Wireless card isn't working and getting a signal on the Windows side does that have to do with drivers or is there another cause to this?
     
  10. SplicedBanjo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    #10
    Yeah it works, technically speaking, but isn't that basically a glorified form of piracy?
     

Share This Page