Bootcamp Help!!!

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by dkg123, Feb 20, 2010.

  1. dkg123 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    #1
    I just looked at a FAQ page on the apple site and it said that when i am installing windows and it asks me to choose the partition called "BOOTCAMP" but when i get to that part in the windows setup process there is no partition named "BOOTCAMP" only one partition is shown and i'm afraid it's my mac partition. what should i do?
     
  2. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #2
    You didn't partition your hard drive using the Boot Camp Assistant.
     
  3. dkg123 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    #3
    yeah i did that and i made it about 21gbs and then after it partitioned it asked me to put in the disk and it would start the setup and so on
     
  4. JediMeister macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #4
    What Windows disc are you using? Is it XP SP2 or SP3, Vista, 7? Did your purchase it retail or did it come with one of your previously owned PCs?
     
  5. dkg123 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
  6. Mac N Tosh macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Location:
    SouthShore
    #7
    You need service pack 2, then u wont have any problems...Then come back when u upgrade to service pack 3, there are some renaming of a file you must do in order to upgrade to 3.....
     
  7. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #8
    According to the OP he was already using SP2
     
  8. akswun macrumors regular

    akswun

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    #9
    I had the same problem when attempting to bootcamp XP SP2 and actually reformatted my mac os with XP at the same time the xp disc corrupted on me...
    took me a couple hours to figure out what happened and reinstall SL .... thank God for time machine!

    I have come to the conclusion that XPsp2 is pretty outdated for a macbook. Just get W7! so much easier... yeah yeah I know it's pricey but it doesn't have to be :D:p

    anyway... W7 bootcamps flawlessly!
     

Share This Page