bootcamp lost partitioned space?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by harmony313, May 27, 2008.

  1. harmony313 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #1
    Hi,

    Somehow I cannot find 8gb on my computer. First, I recently updated to leopard. As I updated I ran "Archive and Install" as an extra backup for my files. Then I decided to try to run bootcamp so I could install Windows XP, I have the full home edition with the service pack. I tried to create a partition with bootcamp and was consistently getting an error message saying that I would have to completely backup and restore (basically defrag) my computer. There were over 40 GB of space and it just didn't make sense that I would need to do that for 8GB of space. So, after thinking about it for a while I deleted the "previous system version" which I thought might have the computer thinking of as a partition. I think it worked because the next time I tried to partition with Bootcamp, I didn't get an error message. HOWEVER, (here's the question) I now cannot find the partition. When I go to bootcamp, I am not getting the "Install Windows" option. The 8gb partition that I made is missing. When I go to bootcamp or disk utility, there is only one disk space. But in bootcamp, the 8gb are missing from the space that was originally available. I hope I've explained this clearly and I hope someone has a suggestion. Please advise.
     
  2. ruskiwi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Location:
    Nelson, NZ
    #2
    I've had kernel panics while trying to partition my drive with Boot Camp assistant, and lost the space I was trying to partition. This is what you'll need to do:

    1. Restart your computer with the OS X installer DVD inserted and hold the C key to startup from the DVD.
    2. When the "choose your language" window opens, choose your language. When you see the menubar, choose "Utilities > Disk Utility".
    3. Repair the volume you were trying to partition.
    4. Partition the volume in Disk Utility. It will not erase your hard drive as long as you have enough free space. Choose FAT for the new partition.
    5. Restart your computer. When you begin installing XP from your Windows CD, make sure you format the Windows partition you created as NTFS.
     
  3. harmony313 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #3
    Still not working

    Ok, so I finally had the courage to try the suggested repair. Fixing the HD in disk utilities with the OS disk in worked. The computer was able to find the "missing" space. I then tried to create a partition in Disk Utilities and it said that it would completely erase my HD and create two new ones. I tried to configure it a couple of different ways and kept getting that message. So, I restarted my computer and decided to try Boot Camp again. And, again, during the "partitioning phase" it said I had to restart the computer by holding down the power button. And when I got back on, the "partitioned" space was lost. So, I've repaired it once again, but I don't know what to do. I just need one stupid data analysis program on my laptop that only comes, and will only come, compatible with Windows. Is it possible to safely partition my computer? I don't understand why the brand new legally purchased Boot Camp/Leopard program isn't working properly. I have 40gb of space available and just want to put 8-10gb of space for Windows, but not at the cost of my laptop!!!

    Any suggestions??
     
  4. ruskiwi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Location:
    Nelson, NZ
    #4
    If you have restarted from the Leopard install DVD and opened Disk Utility, you can make a new partition without erasing the Mac one. Make sure you don't choose the Volume Scheme drop-down menu (which makes brand new, empty partitions), but click the "+" sign next to the "Options..." button. This will add a partition and you can resize it to any size you want within the free (white) space without affecting the Mac (blue) space.
     
  5. ruskiwi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Location:
    Nelson, NZ
    #5
    Alternatively use either VMWare Fusion or Parallels Desktop to install Windows and run your program without rebooting your Mac or doing any partitioning.
     
  6. harmony313 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #6
    thanks

    Thanks for the advice, but we figured out how to fix it. When I upgraded from Tiger to Leopard OS, I chose to "archive and install" and that had created the appearance of a partition to the computer. So, I deleted the archive file, had to update to the newest version of Bootcamp and was able to create the partition without trouble (after 3.5 days of a struggle that is :)!
     

Share This Page