Bootcamp + MBP + External Display = Headache!

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by odinsride, Jan 1, 2008.

  1. odinsride macrumors 65816

    odinsride

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    #1
    I am running XP through Bootcamp on my MBP. I have a 24" LG display hooked up to it. When I boot into XP I always have to go into the nVidia control panel to tell it to use the LG monitor. I like to use the LG display as my primary display, and leave the laptop display off completely.

    Is there a way to tell it to use this setup as the default when it detects that the LG is plugged in, and just use the Laptop screen if not?

    Thanks
     
  2. jasarien macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    #2
    Which version of the nVidia driver are you using? The one that ships with the Bootcamp install?

    I'm using the 169.01 driver from laptopvideo2go.com, and after setting my external display as primary, it's set as default every time I boot.

    If you're going to use this driver, make sure you make a backup of any important data on your computer (both OS X and Windows partitions) in case anything goes wrong.
     
  3. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #3
    I'm having the same problem with my MB and apple display. I can move the taskbar to the ACD, but the macbook screen remains the default for opening new windows and things like that.

    I would be willing to use just the cinema (and keep the macbook closed) but that doesn't work either - the macbook apparently cannot run in clamshell mode in XP.

    Has anyone found a way around this?
     
  4. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #4
    I have not been able to find a solution to this problem.

    Is anyone able to use use an apple laptop + external display, booted in XP, and have the external be the primary monitor? And if so, how do you do it?? :(
     
  5. odinsride thread starter macrumors 65816

    odinsride

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    #5
    fwiw, I gave up on this configuration and now just use my mbp as a laptop :p
     
  6. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #6
    I solved it. On a macbook, you have to go the intel graphics control panel, and there's an option to turn off the laptop display. I imagine there's an ATI control panel on your MBP with a similar option.
     
  7. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #7
    Can too. under power settings, just tell it to do noting when you close the lid.
     
  8. thechidz macrumors 68000

    thechidz

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    New York City
    #8
    will it boot in XP with the external on then?
     
  9. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #9
    i have a similar issue in XP with my MBP core duo which as an ATI graphics card and my Cinema Display.

    ive tried to install the latest ATI Catalyst drivers, which i assume lets me make my external display primary as windows' display properties wont let me (option is greyed out for external), but they wont install!

    a bit of researching on ATI's support page shows that this is an issue and there is no fix.

    is there any kind of program or driver i can use from laptopvideo2go to make my external display primary?

    i know vista is better at handling external dispplays with notebooks but i really dont want to use vista for the obvious reasons and it takes up too much space on my 80 GB hard drive.
     

Share This Page