Bootcamp (Mountain Lion)

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by guklein, Nov 24, 2012.

  1. guklein macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    #1
    Hello,

    I would like to know if it is possible to install Windows XP or Windows 8 using Bootcamp.

    My OS X is Mountain Lion.

    Thanks!
     
  2. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Windows XP and Windows 8 are not currently supported with Boot Camp version 4.0.

    Link.

    Have you looked into virtual machines? i.e Parallels etc
     
  3. guklein thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    #3
    Which one is the best? Parallels or VMWare?
     
  4. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    I have never used them so can't really comment. Hopefully someone else will chip in with their experiences.
     
  5. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #5
    I'd go with Parallels. Whats apps are you going to run in the VM?
     
  6. throAU macrumors 601

    throAU

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    #6
    Whilst not supported, Windows 8 can be done. As can Vista. Windows XP may not work (haven't tried it) depending on your hardware though.

    I'd give virtualbox a try first up as it is free.

    www.virtualbox.org
     
  7. guklein thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    #7
    I would like to run one small apps and to have access in one website that just work with windows...and just it!

    And I have a Windows XP from an old PC.

    Suggestions?
     
  8. throAU macrumors 601

    throAU

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    #8
    Windows XP from an old PC may not work if it is an OEM version, but you can give it a try.

    If its a small app that doesn't do anything funky with 3d, i'd certainly try it in virtualbox, as it is free and works well enough for most stuff.
     
  9. guklein thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    #9
    I think it is an OEM version. It is very old (2005). Would it work with virtualbox?
     

Share This Page