Bootcamp not giving option to boot into OS X

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by ee99ee, Aug 7, 2009.

  1. ee99ee macrumors 6502

    ee99ee

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    #1
    I bought a new Macbook Pro 13" today, and I am LOVING it. I created a 50GB partition for Windows to be installed, and followed the instructions here to install Windows 7 RTM x64:

    http://www.simplehelp.net/2009/01/1...ndows-7-on-your-mac-the-complete-walkthrough/

    http://ourcoffeestops.com/2009/01/guide-windows-7-x64-build-7000-on-a-macbook-pro/

    After jumping through a few hoops, the Windows install seems to be installed and up to date. All of the drivers seem to be working well and everything is happy. There is one problem -- I can't get back to OS X!!! When I boot the system, it just goes straight to Windows!

    Looking in Disk Management in Computer Management, I see that I installed Windows on the correct partition and that the other partitions exist. I know I didn't format over the OS X partition, I was very careful about that.

    How do I install the bootcamp bootloader so I am prompted for which OS to boot? I ran the installer on the OS X CD as I was supposed to do. I thought that reverted the bootloader back to normal? I also tried taking out the CD-ROM drive, but no matter what I do it goes straight to Windows.

    Thanks in advance!

    -Chris
     
  2. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern Cal
    #2
    On Windows there should be a BootCamp Manager residing on the systray. There's an option there that tells it what to boot up as default.
     
  3. ee99ee thread starter macrumors 6502

    ee99ee

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    #3
    Nice! I'll try that once Visual Studio finishes installing (so next year? hehe).

    Is there a way to prompt me at boot time, with a timeout of a few seconds to default to either a specified default or the last OS booted?

    -Chris
     
  4. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern Cal
    #4
    dont know about a timer, but you can hold the options key while booting and it will give you 2 options.
     

Share This Page