Bootcamp not partitioning

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Zuplar, Apr 22, 2008.

  1. Zuplar macrumors regular

    Zuplar

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Location:
    OKCity
    #1
    i am trying to use bootcamp to partition and it keeps locking up and telling me to hold down the power button to restart. any ideas? i keep having to restart and then use disk utility to fix the permissions afterwards as well.
     
  2. SwitchingtoMAC macrumors member

    SwitchingtoMAC

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #2
    the hard drive might be failing i would run a utility such at techtool or drive genius to test out the HD
     
  3. Zuplar thread starter macrumors regular

    Zuplar

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Location:
    OKCity
    #3
    where can i get one of those at? just search?
     
  4. Zuplar thread starter macrumors regular

    Zuplar

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Location:
    OKCity
    #4
    i downloaded drive genius and i can't get it to do anything other than give me info on it.
     
  5. SwitchingtoMAC macrumors member

    SwitchingtoMAC

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #5
    micromat is the company that makes techtool
    and prosoft makes drive genius, you can just look them up and download
     
  6. SwitchingtoMAC macrumors member

    SwitchingtoMAC

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #6
    i dont know if they let you make a bootable cd, but if they do , burn one and start your machine off of it
     
  7. Zuplar thread starter macrumors regular

    Zuplar

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Location:
    OKCity
    #7

    from what it looks like i should just be able to use the app while running osx.
     
  8. ErrorMessage macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    #8
    This happened to me too. It is fustrating.

    when the thing tells you to reboot it is called a Kernal Panic.

    however there is no need to panic.

    After further research I found that this commonly occurs when the HD has been used to near capacity at one point. There are files placed that boot camp cannot remove. The way i undestand it is that Boot camp partitions the HD at the end. So if there are a files there that cannot be moved...boot camp does not partition it.

    solution...two ways:

    1) compress the HD to the amount minus the wanted Windows partition allocation...then re-expand. (Eg...if you have a 100GB HD....and want a 20 GB windows partition...then compress the HD to 80 GIG...then after restore to 100GB)
    This compresses the files in the 80 Gig leaving the end of the HD 20 free for your partition.

    2) use iDefrag - Use the compress algorithm - from your created bootable iDefrag disk using CDmaker
    this moves/fits/compresses files on the HD starting at the front of the HD...therefore the end is free.

    i did option number 2.

    then ran boot camp.

    it worked.

    I hope this helps!
     
  9. Zuplar thread starter macrumors regular

    Zuplar

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Location:
    OKCity
    #9
    thanks for the information. i will try it first thing when i get home.
     
  10. eclipse525 macrumors 6502a

    eclipse525

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Location:
    USA, New York
    #10
    I do have a question. When creating the bootcamp partition with bootcamp assistant, all I see is the choice for the size of the space you want to partition but nothing about FAT32 or NTFS. Does that choice show up later or should there be an option for FAT32 or NTFS prior to actually creating the partition?
     
  11. Zuplar thread starter macrumors regular

    Zuplar

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Location:
    OKCity
    #11

    well iDefrag cost money and i thought you could compress through disk utility, but apparently not. any ideas?
     
  12. zap2 macrumors 604

    zap2

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Washington D.C
    #12
    Had this problem, do you have time machine?


    Back up you're computer, wipe you HD clean, restore using time machine.


    It seems to have to do with fraging, and while OS X does it on the fly, its not doing it the "right way"...hopefully 10.5.3 fixes the issue
     
  13. Zuplar thread starter macrumors regular

    Zuplar

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Location:
    OKCity
    #13

    for some reason there is something wrong with my time machine, and i don't know how to reinstall it. plus i don't have a back up hdd.
     
  14. Zuplar thread starter macrumors regular

    Zuplar

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Location:
    OKCity
    #14
    i have still yet to get this ironed out, so if anybody has an idea let me know. thanks.
     
  15. eclipse525 macrumors 6502a

    eclipse525

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Location:
    USA, New York
    #15
    Hey, does the new Bootcamp update fix the OSX application of bootcamp or does it install components on the windows side? What are the fixes?


    ~e
     
  16. Zuplar thread starter macrumors regular

    Zuplar

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Location:
    OKCity
    #16
    i don't think it updates bootcamp just the stuff on the windows side because i have yet to be prompted for an update.
     

Share This Page