bootcamp on macbook air?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by twoodcc, Jun 30, 2008.

  1. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #1
    do you have to have an external drive to install windows on the macbook air via bootcamp?
     
  2. Savagestorm macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    #2
    I beleive so, as far as I'm aware some people ahve tried to use disk images but have not been succesful.

    Just a note, the only external drive you can use to install windows is the official superdrive.
     
  3. twoodcc thread starter macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #3
    thanks for the reply. i thought this was the case, after searching, but wanted to make sure.
     
  4. twoodcc thread starter macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #4
    well i got it installed, but does it continue to run at 1.6 ghz all the time? isn't supposed to change, to save battery life, and so the fans don't run all the time?
     
  5. OasisNYK macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    #5
    Is anyone running parallels? I would be curious to know what kind of performance you get with that...
     
  6. magid macrumors 6502

    magid

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    #6
    Probably not so great at all. I have it running on my c2d mbp and its not all that fast.
     
  7. PLin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    #7
    If you have another Intel Mac, you can always install Boot Camp, grab an image of it using WinClone, and then restore the image to the MacBook Air's hard drive.

    I have used WinClone to backup and restore my Boot Camp partition on a MacBook Pro to allow me repartition the drive to allocate more space to BootCamp. If you can restore the image to a MacBook Pro, I don't see why you couldn't restore the image to a MacBook Air.

    Also, has someone actually confirmed that you can't install Windows using just a generic USB external DVD drive? I don't see why it would only work with the MBA SuperDrive.
     
  8. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #8
    I'm running XP under parallels on my MBA. Works fine.
     
  9. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #9
    You cannot install windows XP on another Intel Mac, unless its a MacBook Air, and winclone it to make it work. You can only do that if you are cloning to the same model or the same system. Windows is incredibly picky when it comes to drivers.
     
  10. deputylove8 macrumors regular

    deputylove8

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Location:
    in the comfort of my room...in Singapore
    #10
    The thread I was looking for. Installing XP on the MBA. :)
    Right now, I'm torn. Should I use Paralles or just boot camp it.

    Hmmmmmm.

    Are there any disadvantages of using bootcamp?
    Can we transfer files from the partioned hd that stores XP into the partioned hd of the Mac OS?:D:eek::apple:
     
  11. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #11
    Why not use both?

    Bootcamp is free and you can then use the bootcamp-created partition in Parallels Desktop. Thats what I do on my MacBook.
     
  12. PLin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    #12
    Apple's Boot Camp setup installs the drivers for all the different types of hardware in the different models of Macs, so it should work fine. Even if it doesn't, you can always run the Boot Camp setup again in Windows to reinstall the drivers.

    The only thing that you might have to do is reactivate Windows, since your hardware will have changed.
     
  13. jackfrost123 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    #13
    Hey guys, what about bootcamp and linuxes, such as ubuntu?
     
  14. ant043 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ireland
    #14
    does vista run well through bootcamp guys ?
    Thanks
     
  15. DJGuy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #15
    Parallels

    I run XP under Parallels on my Air as well. But in order to stay within the 2GB, I only allocate 512k to XP, and I close (almost) every application in OSX. Otherwise you page to the disk continuously, which brings speed to a screeching halt. Still, once you set this up, it does run OK. Maybe someone has a better setup?
     

Share This Page